We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”
Review of The Pear Tree

The Pear Tree
Ranked #14 of 50 Restaurants in Kerikeri
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Fabulous place to dine in summer with the wonderful Kerikeri abasin on its doorstep and al fresco dining is superb. In winter it is dark and the view disappears. However there is a fire and a homely ambience and the service is good. Some good wines and beers too. The food is inconsistent: some days excellent, other days average. Some dishes come with just a token sprinkling of vegetables. They good be far more generous, especially for a place that is not so well patronised in winter.

1  Thank Cris101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

Time to replace the cook? All three of us were disappointed with the food. Chicken dish was far too spicey and dry. The eggs were covered in a range of spices/sauces which did not blend. Lots of left overs, and the meals were quite expensive. Waitress was helpful, impressive and efficient, and the setting is truly beautiful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vmc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePearTreeKerikeri, General Manager at The Pear Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback, It was nice to know that you enjoyed our location and the efficiency of our service staff. It was sad to know that you did not like the dishes that you ordered, If it was made known to us that there were any issues with you food we would have happily changed them for you and made them to your liking, because the chicken dish can be made milder (on request) and the sauces which come with the eggs are also optional ( any one or all can be taken off or even ordered on the side). Its is very unfortunate that you did not do any of these things but decided to pay for your meals letting the waitress know that everything was fine and then complain on a public forum.
Our Chef (not Cook) has travelled and worked internationally and brings influences from his travels into the food at the Pear Tree. Bringing a multicultural influence to the menu. Most of our spicier dishes are quite popular with our regulars they say ‘If it does not make you sweat then its not spicy enough’.
Please do visit us again so that we can give you a much better experience.
Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Really enjoyed our meal at The Pear Tree. Food was good, great service and the view from our table outstanding.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Millymolly2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

A nice place for a glass of wine on the verandah in summer and maybe a shared bowl of fries.
I do not recommend as a dinner venue: slow service and variable food quality are the main reason. But it is a beautiful spot for a glass of wine.

1  Thank Anyakd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

It had been a while since we'd been to The Pear Tree for dinner, and had heard a couple of negative comments. However - we were really pleased with the whole experience. We arrived very early at 5.20 (had to get back to watch the Rugby!) but were welcomed and shown to a table near the open wood fire. Water and menus were quickly brought to the table and drinks followed quickly. The garlic bread was delicious, and heaps for 2 people. We were both very impressed with our meal - hubby had Eye Fillet and I had Lamb Shank. Delicious. A shared Chocolate Torte to finish.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank morecambegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pear Tree also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to The Pear Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing