We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Small Camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kerikeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aroha Island Ecocentre
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Small Camp”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A very pretty and small camp with lovely people. Clean and tidy. Something a little different too.
Hopefully with all these good reviews they are getting, the place will still be small, quiet and peaceful. This is a quiet eco-camp, Lets all hope it stay's that way and does not get too popular with the regular camping crowds. Go there for a rest and peace and quiet whilst you can. Enjoy this really nice camp soon like we did.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BossandMrsBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

a little jewel amongst all the camp grounds we've been to so far in NZ. We stayed 6 nights at this campground after finding it with a Google search. The place is tidy, probably not the place for families that expect a whole heap of activities but Kerikeri and other places are not far away. We kayaked, did the kiwi walk and used the BBQ a lot. The bird population is amazing but so is the whole place if you're looking for time away from your busy life. Certainly a place to return to!!

Room Tip: there are cabins available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEANZUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This place is a great place for camping, very inspiring, clean, quiet and really friendly people with a lot information about kiwis. Unfortunatly we could only stay one night and we didn`t spot any kiwis that night but we didn`t regret our stay anyway as we had a good time there!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tristrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Very quiet small island, yet with full of activity for kids,
Children spent some time in the kids corner,
We also did kayaking and self guided kiwi walk.

Winter manager Helen and Tim were very friendly.

My only complain is this place is too far away from home, that I couldn't come often.

During the stay, My 7 year old boy taught me a few things I didn't know about kiwi that he learnt from the info centre.
My 5 year old boy said, "this is my best camping ever!"

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaK0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

New Zealand is so full of beautiful sites that it's almost impossible for any one place to be more special than another.

Our stay on Aroha Island was a game changer. To begin with, how many times can you say that you had a whole island basically to your self? This is a place to lose yourself, forget about all the pressures in the real world, and simply listen to the sounds of nature.

We stay in the Kiwi Lodge, which is basically a modern house with fantastic panoramic views of the bay.

But this place is not about the indoors. I didn't see much of my wife for a few days, as she tramped around the island gathering photos for her travel book. She said she felt some sort of spiritual rebirth.

For me, the absolute highlight of my trip was my search for a Kiwi (in its natural habitat). After taking some tips, our family of 5 ventured out with our red-cellophane covered flashlights. We were able to hear the pig-like snorting of a kiwi. Unfortunately, since we aren't allowed to venture off the path, we could find the critter. So three family members quit, leaving me and my 10-year old autistic son.

We stood on the trail for about 15 minutes, keeping our flashlights off. The whole time we could still hear the snorting of a feeding kiwi. But we could also hear her rustling through the bushes. When the sound appeared to be nearby, we turned on the flashlights and saw the beautiful kiwi about five feet away. She looked up at us for a while and then she went about her foraging. I shed a little tear and gave my smiling son the biggest hug ever. This was a shared moment never to be forgotten.

Now, whenever I feel stress or want to yell at my kids, I just think of that kiwi, and then I feel relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onion007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge B, Manager at Aroha Island Ecocentre, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
We are so glad that you had a special time at Aroha Island. We loved having your family here and so pleased that you had that special moment of seeing a kiwi in its natural habitat. Thank you also for your kind donation for Grandma Barbara the Kauri Tree

Helen & Tim Lee
Winter Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have friends who live in Kerikeri and they have camped here a number of times, sometimes with just them there - must be idyllic. They have also been lucky enough to see the kiwis during the night time walk in the woods a number of times. We had a one night camping stay in March 2013 when we visited over from the UK, Unfortunately it was Easter long weekend so the camping was packed and we had very noisy neighbours. We had an hour walking through the woods after dark and it was very exciting but we failed to see anything. Those things taken aside - it is a lovely spot and wish we had been able to go on a quieter night. The view from the camping field is great and our boys aged 9 and 11 really enjoyed staying up and walking as quietly as possible after dark.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheArcticHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge B, Manager at Aroha Island Ecocentre, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Aroha Island. Easter was a busy time with school holidays and the gorgeous weather this year, but hope you can come back another time and enjoy the beautiful campsite and location and the peaceful setting that this place usually is. Even if you don't see a kiwi, walking around the track and bush at night is a fun and special experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A beautiful place just 12 Kms away from Kerikeri town. Helen was very kind when she assisted us with the booking. We had booked the Fantail Cottage - a sweet cottage for 4 with a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. The cleanliness of the room was just spot on. A paradise for ones who love bird watching and listening to their lovely sounds. The room had fan heater and an electric blanket which kept us warm during the cold nights.
This was a property which was Eco friendly in true sense. The water in provided in the rooms is harvested from the rains. Water was heated using solar water heaters and the waste water was being treated and (I assume) used to water the plants/trees around. Plenty of information on Kiwis was available in the Eco center and Helen and Tim were always around to assist us on information on birds seen on the island.
Kayaks were available on hire at a nominal charge. Kayaking around the island was one of the best time we had during our stay. The most unique part of our trip was the night walk to spot Kiwi birds. It was such a lovely experience being in the dark listening to the Kiwi calls and walking around with torches with red lights. It was unfortunate that we could not spot a Kiwi however, we certainly did hear a lot of calls from around us.
It was a fun trip with a garnish of adventure. Will surely visit again with friends if time permits.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Fantail cottage and loved it. Important tip: If you are not going to be bringing a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelst0ries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge B, Manager at Aroha Island Ecocentre, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time here.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and you never know you might just spot those kiwi :-)

Helen & Tim
Winter Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
3.4 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
1.1 mi away
Swallows Ridge
Swallows Ridge
#2 of 26 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stone Store Lodge Accommodation
3.1 mi away
Pagoda Lodge
Pagoda Lodge
#7 of 27 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aroha Island Ecocentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroha Island Ecocentre

Property: Aroha Island Ecocentre
Address: 177 Rangitane Road | RD1, Kerikeri 0294, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aroha Island offers a range of accommodation: Aroha Kiwi Lodge, our bush cottages Fantail Cottage and Tui Cottage as well as beach and bush camping. It’s the perfect place to just relax or to use as a holiday base to explore the Bay of Islands. Aroha Island offers camping on one of our two beautiful campgrounds. Unpowered sites down by our sheltered Kerikeri inlet beach or a choice of powered or unpowered sites in our upper bush campground. Aroha Island is a 12ha sanctuary in the Kerikeri Inlet and is a short 12km drive north east of Kerikeri, in the stunning Bay of Islands. A causeway links the island to the mainland, providing permanent and convenient vehicle access. It is a natural haven with a wide diversity of New Zealand plants and birds including the rare North Island Brown Kiwi.(You must stay on the Island to go for a Kiwi walk or phone or email for a guided Kiwi tour). Stroll the private beach, kayak the inlet, take a bush walk, look for birds and check out the information in the Eco Centre. Please note because of the presence of Kiwi & the sensitive nature of the island, a “No Pets, No Smoking” policy is in place, thank you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing