We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great easyish walk”
Review of Rainbow Falls Walk

Rainbow Falls Walk
Book In Advance
More Info
US$180.77*
and up
Private Tour: Full-Day Bay of Islands Tour
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Always check the website for changes that might affect your trip.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great easyish walk”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Run, walk with friends, stroll, this walk is a favorite. If you like to run like me, it's a great one on a sunny day if you need to stay out of the rays and stay cool, it has a bit of everything. It is very hand to the town so you can park your car at one the Stone Store end and walk to Reinbow Falls and back in an hour and a half, or run there and back in less than an hour and then enjoy a great coffee or beer at Pear Tree. Really worth doing and very scenic. There are two falls to look at and of course the Rainbow ones are the highlight and I think worth the walk.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    211
    33
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“New Zealand at its best”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

There are 2 ways you can access falls, 1 for the not so energetic is to park at the carpark in Rainbow falls Road and walk a short distance to the observation deck, the falls are high and especially spectacular if it has been raining. The other way which we love is to walk from either the rainbow falls road end to the stone store at the Keriikeri basin or vice versa which is a walk of 4.6kms each way along a well formed and mainly easy path through native bush with the river on one side and the NZ bush all around with the sound of fantails, tuis and wood pigeon. There is an old hydro pumping station to see and the smaller Wharepuke falls on the way. The walk goes under the Heritage bypass and nthe return trip without a must do stop at Rainbow falls of about 1 1/2 hours. You can swim in the clear waters at the base of the falls which forms a large pool, a great spot on a sunny day. It is so good to be a Kiwi!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KiwichickAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Camera will be Spritzed”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We hiked from the Stonehouse to the Falls. A marvelous walk along the river with the Falls as the grand prize at the end. Be sure to walk up to the top of the trail to the observation deck. If you are brave, you can swim over to the falls where there are some hidden caves. We didn't.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Wonderful free attraction”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Falls themselves are just a few minutes walk from the car park and are quite dazzling with a beautiful rainbow thrown in for our visit.
The onward walk to Kerikeri Basin is mostly shaded from the sun and well worth doing for the tree ferns and birdlife which included fantails, tuis and pukekos. As quite experienced walkers, the round trip took us a little over 2 hours of which we loved every minute.
Go!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Walk Through the Jungle”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We did the walk on a rainy day so we didn't see too many people which actually made the walk really special. A good raincoat helped. It is about 5Km each way and the well-maintained path meanders through amazing forests and alongside the river the entire time. A special time communing with nature. A must do!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PDWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainbow Falls Walk also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Rainbow Falls Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing