We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make Time to Enjoy This Inviting Property”
Review of Swallows Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swallows Ridge
Ranked #2 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make Time to Enjoy This Inviting Property”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The view, the hosts, the property -- all exceptional, A-plus. It's doubtful you'll find a more enjoyable place to stay while visiting Kerikeri or the Bay of Islands area. Mike and Chris will treat you as old friends and see to any of your travel needs.

Room Tip: You won't go wrong choosing any of the 3 rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
182
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was a perfect start to our vacation. We ended up booking last minute and arriving late in the evening after driving all day. Chris and Mike were very sweet despite it all. Our room overlooked the bay and was beautiful. Very clean and modern. Amazing shower! The grounds, pool, and surrounding countryside were beautiful. Chris and Mike were down to earth and felt like family that we had not seen in a long time. Very helpful also with suggesting outings and eateries. The breakfasts were plentiful and the atmosphere very relaxing. Always welcome to find an amazing place to stay, tucked away just minutes away from so many things to do. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KasiaandTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

What a find - this beautiful modern home with stunning views of the Bay was a treasure to find. It is quiet and secluded and has absolutely everything you need for a perfect visit to the Bay of Islands. The rooms are huge and spotless and everything has been thought of. There is a kitchen area for guests which is as spotless as the rest of the property. Chris and Mike are exceedingly helpful and will offer good advice on anything you need or want to know. Mike cooks up a good breakfast and provides an excellent picnic if requested. The house also boasts a heated swimming pool, in beautiful grounds, which looked very inviting and they'll even find you a swimming costume if required!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a wonderfully peaceful home from home. Michael and Chris are so helpful and booked various things to help us. Our room was very comfortable and having the use of the pool was great at the end of each busy day. Lovely views. This is an ideal location for the Bay of Islands as you are close enough to things but not in the main tourist buzz. We will definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

When Mike showed Lyn and I our room for the first time we were speachless. The views over the distant bay were the best we had in our stay on the North Island. Both Chris and Mike gave us excellent local advice on trips and places to eat. Our room was very comfortable, spotless and spacious.
Mike's breakfast set us up for the day and you could have as much or little as required. As has
been said before our only regret was that we only stayed for three days. At the end of our stay we departed with regret and having made two new friends. Ken & Lyn

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Mike and Chris are fantastic hosts ,very helpful and insightful,The property has lovely views, spacious rooms ,Mike makes a really good english breakfast.
Would definately stay again and more than likely will on my next dive trip.

thanks again
Brenda and Alex

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Myself and My husband spent few days in North Island recently. Our first stay was at Swallows Ridge. We drove from Auckland which took us 4hours. when we reached KeriKeri it was dark. we were trying to find the way to Swallows ridge. we asked a policemen for directions. he generously offered us to drive to the spot. That was very nice. We reached Chris and Mike's place and loved it. It was so clean and nicely decorated. Chirs has thought of everything. Mike is very helpful host, giving a lot of information about the local area. The house fantasically located. we loved the area around the house. great people, great hosts. The Swallows Ridge was the best of our accommodation in our trip. Thank you Chirs and Mike. Cant wait to come back again. Best wishes from Ravi as well.

Rama

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rama R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
3.4 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
3.1 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#6 of 16 in Kerikeri
132 reviews
4.3 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Treghan Luxury Lodge
#1 of 26 in Kerikeri
298 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
461 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallows Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallows Ridge

Property: Swallows Ridge
Address: 32A Rangitane Road, Kerikeri 0294, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our purpose built award winning accommodation (2010 House of the Year Silver Medal). Set in 21 acres, our secluded and peaceful location is a designated Kiwi area. Yet is near to town and only two minutes drive to Doves Bay Marina. Enjoy peace and tranquility with fantastic coastal views of the Bay of Islands, Kent Passage and Kerikeri Inlet. Swim in the heated 12mtr pool or relax on your own private patio. All rooms are large with en suite. Home made bread and eggs from our own chickens for breakfast. Visit Kerikeri's historic Stone Store, cafes, farmers market and art galleries, play a round of golf or take a trip to a local beach. Swim with dolphins or catch a marlin - we can arrange it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swallows Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing