We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another successful visit.”
Review of Swallows Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swallows Ridge
Ranked #1 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another successful visit.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Once again I was not disappointed with this fantastic choice for accommodation. I travel many miles on business and I make a point at staying at Swallows Ridge. Not only the restfulness and view but the pure customer service. You are treated like a member of the family and that's in a good way. Its always fun to wake up to the good 'ol kiwi bird song and pulling the curtains to see a remarkable view of the inlet and the many boats moored in the bay. Or seeing the mist slowly roll out to sea to reveal a beautiful day in the "winterless North". Even on the not so good days its always pleasant to sit back and relax in the well appointed surroundings and have a leisurely chat with Mike and Chris.
In those immortal words "I will return".

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms facing the South side with the views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
182
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at Swallows Ridge for one night. Everything in this B and B was pristine with particular attention to detail. The views were amazing and I think if we had stayed here in the summer, the outside space would have been very difficult to beat. The range of breakfasts offered was very good and Mike's cooking was certainly above standard!. We hope to see you again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lornai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Gorgeous views and lovely hosts! If you love these 2 things, then this place is for you.

Situated in Kerikeri, Swallows ridge was just beautiful.

The care taken to make us feel welcome to the amazing breakfasts, we felt like this was a home away from home.
The picturesque views from Swallows ridge while swimming in the pool made our holiday even more relaxing.

We recommend anyone who wants to visit Kerikeri and stay in a lovely homestead like this to stay here! It's a must!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissNatashaLucas82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wainuiomata
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

After a long day we arrived in the dark to a wonderful welcome from Chris & Mike. We chose Swallows Ridge for the view and wow what a view it is. Fabulous vista to wake up to in the morning and enjoy while eating a lovely breakfast cooked by Mike. The house is beautiful and the attention to detail to make their guests stay perfect is amazing. We look forward to staying again but the next time we will stay longer to make sure we can relax by the pool and soak up the scenery. Thank you Chris and Mike

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendywoo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Mike and Chris were delightful and altho we only had a one night stay, they were very accommodating and helpful. They are located out in the country, a 10-15 min drive, but worth it for the beautiful scenery and immaculate home! The breakfast was yummy and we wish we had been able to stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmbhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights with Chris and Mike and wish it could have been longer. They were both great hosts and made us feel really welcome in their lovely home. The tea and biscuits on arrival were a friendly touch. The en suite rooms were very comfortable and it was great to have access to a guest lounge to relax after a day sight seeing. The location is absolutely stunning with views over the Bay of Islands - we only wish we had more time there. Mike and Chris are really helpful, informative hosts with restaurant and trip ideas. We would highly recommend their home to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah5368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Swallows Ridge is a modern B & B set in a beautiful location a short distance from Kerikeri. Chris and Mike are a likeable couple eager to ensure your stay is one to remember. The rooms are immaculate, 2 of them having their own seating area whilst all guests have access to the Pool area also. Swallows Ridge is a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissy383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
3.4 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
4.6 mi away
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Treghan Luxury Lodge
#2 of 26 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
4.3 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
8.7 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#2 of 20 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallows Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallows Ridge

Property: Swallows Ridge
Address: 32A Rangitane Road, Kerikeri 0294, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our purpose built award winning accommodation (2010 House of the Year Silver Medal). Set in 21 acres, our secluded and peaceful location is a designated Kiwi area. Yet is near to town and only two minutes drive to Doves Bay Marina. Enjoy peace and tranquility with fantastic coastal views of the Bay of Islands, Kent Passage and Kerikeri Inlet. Swim in the heated 12mtr pool or relax on your own private patio. All rooms are large with en suite. Home made bread and eggs from our own chickens for breakfast. Visit Kerikeri's historic Stone Store, cafes, farmers market and art galleries, play a round of golf or take a trip to a local beach. Swim with dolphins or catch a marlin - we can arrange it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swallows Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing