We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay with lots to do in the...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Carriage House
A Special Place in Kerikeri Bay of Islands
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Carriage House
A Special Place in Kerikeri Bay of Islands
Waterfront Jetty Dining / Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Carriage House
A Special Place in Kerikeri Bay of Islands
Waterfront Jetty
Dining / Living Room
The Carriage House
The Brewers Dray
Just Playing
Gypsy Bow Waggon
Sitting Room
Fully Equipped Kitchen
King Size Ensuite Bedroom
Two Modern Bathrooms
The Boat Jetty
King or Twin Beds
Reflections of Moored Yachts
1924 Vauxhall 30/98
Kerikeri Farmers Market
The Carriage House Farm
The Shire Horses
The Historic Stone Store and Kemp House
Rainbow Falls Track, Kerikeri
Chris Booth Sculpture and Kerikeri Library
Kerikeri Golf Course
The Kerikeri Stone Store Basin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
donburrow...
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“A great place to stay with lots to do in the surrounding area.”
Reviewed 8 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Kerikeri is a lovely area and the accommodation provided at the Carriage House is of a very high standard. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2017
Another nice couple from Australia..When Australians go on holiday they like a Comfortable place to stay and lots of interesting things to do. The Bay of Islands has so many activities on offer that you need 5 to 7 days..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“AWESOME!!! Definitely a must location to stay at!!”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A delightfully large self-contained two superking bedroom apartment overlooking the river and horse pastures, 5 minutes drive from the centre of Kerikeri. Adrian and Sylvia are superb hosts - it's like going to stay with family not strangers. If you are interested in history at all, then you will love it here even more. We will definitely be back to spend more time with them :)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2017
Karen came from Auckland and found Kerikeri was where the first settlement was made by missionaries. They built the Kemp House and the Stone Store Which today are Trust Buildings open to visit. Nearby WAITANGI is where a treaty was signed between the British and the Mauri and a vist here is a half day well spent. Manganui and Russell are both old WHALING ports still quite delightful and unspoilt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJWSM
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage, superb hosts”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed here for a week during our tour of New Zealand, and had a wonderful time.
The cottage has all the amenities we could want- is very spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Everything worked, which is not always a given in rental properties. It is near the town of Keri Keri, which has shops and restaurants, but is among just a very few houses down a longish track.
The hosts, Adrian and Sylvia, live in their house just nearby, and have been superb hosts. We could not have been made more welcome. They are full of suggestions of places to visit and have been really helpful when we've had any queries.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2017
Annabel and her husband stayed at The Carriage House for a week. We get a lot of guests from England coming to avoid the winter cold. So many return again the next year we call them "Swallows"This is the warmest part of NZ and about three hours drive north of Auckland
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurelana
Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something very special”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great place to stay, the host are just fantastic and so helpful. Ask to see the carriage collection and the old cars; you are in for a treat.
We stayed 2 nights there and I could stay even longer.
I have no hesitation whatsoever to recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect setting, close to all amenities.”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful, peaceful setting. The Carriage House is spacious and well equipped. Close to town and lots of amenities, good restaurants and cinema. The owners (Adrian and Sylvia) made our stay very special, taking us for a ride in one of their horse drawn carriages and giving us lots of local information. Set on the estuary but never far from a beach and many interesting places to see. We would happily visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel A
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation and superb hospitality, a really enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed in this spacious accommodation in Kerikeri, in the Bay of Islands. It had all that we could desire. Our hosts couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The location was ideal for what we wanted to achieve within this area - ready access to the many islands, historical and cultural settings and fine restaurants. Adrian and Silvia (our hosts) were rightly proud of property and were keen to share with us their passion for horses, carriages and vintage cars. Adrian breeds horses and has one of the finest collection in New Zealand. It was a real pleasure and education listening to him.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristinaA...
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed for Labour weekend with my family and our dog - easy to find (literally 2 mins outside Kerikeri center), friendly welcome, clean and spacious accommodation.
The accommodation was comfortable for four adults with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a well equiped kitchen for self-catering; there are also good food options nearby in Kerikeri. The horses were friendly and had no issues with our dog (or vice versa!). We took kayaks with us and launched from the jetty on the property to kayak on Kerikeri River. Adrian and Sylvia are very nice hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing