We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moon Gate Villa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kauri Park Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial House Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerikeri Park Lodge(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay of Islands Country Lodge Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
233
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast basketpremium suitenew zealandb bthe main houseboutique accommodationcooked breakfastfabulous breakfastthe main roadheated swimming poolthoroughly enjoyed our stayattention to detailget away from it allperfect hostsmueslibeautiful gardenlocal knowledge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Truly wonderful accommodation staying in the garden cottage et al in a most pleasant landscaped, tranquil environment. And all this in a fantastically pretty part of the country and with a huge bespoke breakfast delivered daily. Quality throughout not least in the company of Lionel and Rob. The only criticism was ......... just joking !

Room Tip: Garden cottage is an excellent self-contained world !!
Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We could only stay one night but it was the perfect place to end our stay in the lovely Bay of Islands and Northland. Lionel and Rob were perfect hosts - very accommodating but gave us our own space too. The room was lovely, the pool and gardens devine and breakfast, such a treat. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I treated ourselves to 4 nights accomodation at Moon Gate Villa at the start of our 14 day holiday in New Zealand and we were not disapointed. The garden was lovely and peaceful, the accomodation luxurious and spacious and the breakfasts superb (I now know how to poach gourmet eggs: thanks Lionel!).

Rob and Lionel's knowledge of New Zealand and their help and extra effort in helping us plan the rest of our trip was very much appreciated. An Air New Zealand flight hostess on our return flight commented very favourably on our itinerary. All that effort was worth it Rob!

A perfect start to an excellent holiday!

Room Tip: All rooms are great: Ask for the expresso coffee when you have breakfast.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biglegsrocky, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you JohnFW123 for taking time to complete a review for Moon Gate Villa. It was our pleasure to look after you and your wonderful wife. It sounds like your journey down to Wellington went really well and you enjoyed the footy game that you went to watch, sorry I didn’t watch this game, so hope your team won. How are the poached eggs going? Rob and I look forward to your next visit to the Far North, Kerikeri.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

After having travelled Australia for 6 weeks and constantly being on the road we were looking for something special to relax and calm down for our first few days in New Zealand. We found Moon Gate Villa and it was of the nicest places we stayed at! We had the Little Cottage which was perfect for us. Beautiful views of the garden, no neighbours around, clean, very well equipped, breakfast basket in the morning etc.. It felt like "our Little place" and we would have loved to stay longer. But unfortunately it was already booked. Rob and Lionel were very helpful and friendly and great hosts! We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiaw76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Moon Gate Villa is a unique and a beautiful relaxing B&B to stay in Kerikeri, the rooms are so spacious and luxurious, the super king size beds are absolutely comfy, you dont wont to get up. Our wonderful host Lionel and Rob are very friendly, welcoming and helpful with things to do around the area. Lionel's breakfast is to die for and the previous reviews are bang on. The guest lounge is very inviting, even though the rooms have their own retreat, it's nice to sit and read or listen to some soft music in the background while enjoying the scenic view of the garden and water features with very friendly gold fish. The location is away from the main road, but very close to Kerikeri town, staying at Moon Gate Villa for 5 nights is the highlight of my two weeks stay in NZ, we will have no problem recommending Moon Gate to friends and family and we will definately be back again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biglegsrocky, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Moon Gate Villa. Rob and I are very happy to hear the start to your holiday in NZ was the highlight and hope you and your mum enjoyed the rest of your journey in NZ and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews