We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moon Gate Villa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kauri Park Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial House Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerikeri Park Lodge(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay of Islands Country Lodge Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
233
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast basketpremium suitenew zealandb bthe main houseboutique accommodationcooked breakfastfabulous breakfastthe main roadheated swimming poolthoroughly enjoyed our stayattention to detailget away from it allperfect hostsmueslibeautiful gardenlocal knowledge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Such an amazing place, great friendly service, great advice, the complete package. Moon Gate Villa has a real touch of class and you feel right at home. One of the great things we liked is that there wasnt a lot of people there, as it was private. We ate well, loved Kerikeri and if when wanting to go back, with out hesitation this would be where we go. :) GREAT VALUE!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Hello Joel G, thank you for your review and we hope married life is all you both hoped it would be and more. We look forward to you and your lovely wife's next visit...maybe your first anniversery? Rob and I wish you both well and all the best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Truly wonderful accommodation staying in the garden cottage et al in a most pleasant landscaped, tranquil environment. And all this in a fantastically pretty part of the country and with a huge bespoke breakfast delivered daily. Quality throughout not least in the company of Lionel and Rob. The only criticism was ......... just joking !

Room Tip: Garden cottage is an excellent self-contained world !!
Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We could only stay one night but it was the perfect place to end our stay in the lovely Bay of Islands and Northland. Lionel and Rob were perfect hosts - very accommodating but gave us our own space too. The room was lovely, the pool and gardens devine and breakfast, such a treat. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I treated ourselves to 4 nights accomodation at Moon Gate Villa at the start of our 14 day holiday in New Zealand and we were not disapointed. The garden was lovely and peaceful, the accomodation luxurious and spacious and the breakfasts superb (I now know how to poach gourmet eggs: thanks Lionel!).

Rob and Lionel's knowledge of New Zealand and their help and extra effort in helping us plan the rest of our trip was very much appreciated. An Air New Zealand flight hostess on our return flight commented very favourably on our itinerary. All that effort was worth it Rob!

A perfect start to an excellent holiday!

Room Tip: All rooms are great: Ask for the expresso coffee when you have breakfast.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biglegsrocky, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you JohnFW123 for taking time to complete a review for Moon Gate Villa. It was our pleasure to look after you and your wonderful wife. It sounds like your journey down to Wellington went really well and you enjoyed the footy game that you went to watch, sorry I didn’t watch this game, so hope your team won. How are the poached eggs going? Rob and I look forward to your next visit to the Far North, Kerikeri.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

After having travelled Australia for 6 weeks and constantly being on the road we were looking for something special to relax and calm down for our first few days in New Zealand. We found Moon Gate Villa and it was of the nicest places we stayed at! We had the Little Cottage which was perfect for us. Beautiful views of the garden, no neighbours around, clean, very well equipped, breakfast basket in the morning etc.. It felt like "our Little place" and we would have loved to stay longer. But unfortunately it was already booked. Rob and Lionel were very helpful and friendly and great hosts! We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiaw76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews