We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional B&B”
Review of Moon Gate Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moon Gate Villa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dargaville, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Exceptional B&B”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We do not usually stay in B&B's but Moon Gate Villa is the exception for us and not to be missed. Moon Gate is set in lovely, peaceful gardens and the house is just beautiful. Lionel and Rob are excellent hosts--friendly and helpful but not obtrusive. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable with lovely finishing touches. Lionels amazing breakfast was one of the best we have had anywhere and set you up nicely for the day. Moon Gate Villa is quality accommodation which we would recommend highly. We are lucky to live only 1.5 hours away and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaK845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you SheilK845 for the wonderful reveiw. We hope you and your husband have since had other great weekends away at other interesting places in NZ. We do look forward to your next visit up the Far North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
177
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

What an excellent break away from home. Rob & Lionel were fabulous hosts, left us alone but were somehow there when we needed something. The breakfast was fantastic, the cottage was well appointed and the grounds were meticulouly beautiful. We didn't want to leave and we WILL be back. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJSandMRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hello TJSandMRK and thank you very much for the review. We hope your trip back to Adelaide was great and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The people and accommodation at moon gate were fantastic, and the fabulous dinner they served in our room was beyond expectation. I have worked in hospitality and traveled the world with my wife, and these guy's rock.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you Tim H for the wonderful reveiw. It was our pleasure looking after you both and do hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This place is fantastic, lovely room and grounds, great house.

The breakfasts were excellent, plenty of fresh tasty food and great hosts. We had the romantic dinner for two, prepared and served by call-in chef Gary. The food was delicious and service excellent. Well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Lionel and Rob are excellent hosts - everything was as they advertised - they are very friendly, yet were respectful of our privacy.

The accommodation and gardens are a delight.

They were both very helpful and were able to offer great advice with our unique requirements on both the times we have stayed

Oh yes and we enjoyed deliciously generous breakfast on both visits!

Christian and John

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tui-manga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hi Guys,
Thank you for taking time to write a reveiw. Hope the search is going well and hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and on arrival were greeted by Lionel(1of the owners).
We didn't get in til 10pm outside of check in time but with early enquiry it was fine.
Our room was superb with lovely little homely touches.
The bed is to die for if I had it my way I would've just stayed in bed the whole trip.
Hosts both very hospitable and very helpful on suggesting things to do.
Kerikeri township is 5mins away and paihia Russell only 30mins from location.
We will be going back for another visit and highly recommend to our friends.

Don't miss out cuspids arrow whilst there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dundeedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Hello Dundeedoo and thank you for your review. Rob and I are so glad you both had a wonderful time and look forward to your next visit. Although there are lots of sights to see you have our permission to stay in bed all day and relax in the curl of Cupids Bow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a little gem! After being greeted at the door by Lionel, you step into a hallway that has Bond like qualities. Our room was well appointed, spotlessly clean with every amenity you could want and doors out into a beautiful garden. Chatty, but unobtrusive hosts who were helpful and can't do enough for their guests. A great base to explore the area. Luxury at its best with little touches that made all the difference, could have happily spent the entire holiday there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you Ann H. I'm blushing here; it's the first time anyway has suggested that I look like Daniel Craig and I must say I could get used to it! We hope that Hamilton and the rest of the NZ leg of your trip was as enjoyable for you both. We hope to see you gain, the next time your PLANS bring you back to Kerikeri Bay of Island. Cheers;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
1.9 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#6 of 16 in Kerikeri
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
459 reviews
3.3 mi away
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stone Store Lodge Accommodation
12.5 mi away
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
#1 of 1 in Matauri Bay
201 reviews
8.9 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Gate Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Gate Villa

Property: Moon Gate Villa
Address: 462 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Moon Gate Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the shape of Cupid’s bow, Moon Gate Villa was originally designed for a romance novelist. Its timeless and elegant design offers sumptuous accommodation surrounded by 1.5 acres of gardens, waterfalls and reflective pools. Private suites feature luxury linens, in-house movies, exclusive guest lounge and access to the heated pool.Free hi-speed Internet and a full breakfast is included in all our rates. Evening dining by arrangement. A hidden treasure, 2 minutes from Kerikeri village in the heart of the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moon Gate Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing