We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place”
Review of Moon Gate Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moon Gate Villa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a wonderfull time staying in the cottage of the Moon Gate Villa!
Rob and Lionel are wonderful hosts and their recommendations for trips or restaurants are most helpful. Our stay couldn't have been any better. Too bad Moon Gate is 24hrs far away by plane from where we live - otherwise we definately would come more often ;-)

Thanks for a wonderful stay!
Frank

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

How nice it was to arrive and find that the cottage met our expections. It was quiet, and peaceful with a decent size deck with table and sun umbrella. The view of the lawns and garden was lovely and private and it was so relaxing having meals on the deck and just relaxing and watching the tuis a few feet away. Inside the the sofa was comfy, and the bed excellent with luxurious bed linen. The bathroom, while small, had a generous supply of fluffy towels and nice toileteries and was adequate for a couple. The breakfast basket was excellent with a reasonable number of choices. There were no short cuts taken anywhere. The cottage is portrayed well on the website (not photoshopped or enhanced) and when booking a cottage one needs to have reasonable expectations and not expect a villa. We were shown the rooms in the villa which were quite exceptional, at least 5-star. But if one wants the fexibility of total privacy with the option of being able to cook one's own meals, the cottage is a good choice. If I had to suggest an improvement, it would be that the curtains were heavier so they kept out the light in the early morning although this probably is not important to most people.

Room Tip: If you want absolute luxury with loads of space choose a room in the villa, but it you are a single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raewyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hello Raewyn H
Thank you for your wonderful review. I take all suggestions on board and need no excuse to shop when it comes to soft furnishings, so new curtains are on my next shopping list! Next time we hope that we can accommodate both you and your family on your visit to Kerikeri. All the best. Lionel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We would like to thank Lionel & Rob for giving us a memorable weekend . Moon Gate Villa is a wonderful spot located in a beautiful garden setting. Both Lionel & rob were attentive hosts ,there when required and absent when not. Fantastic room. Their knowledge on where to eat was most helpful. Enjoyed a bottle of wine and canopies on arrival. Lionel is a great cook so bring your appetite for breakfast. Once again thank you for our weekend away.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms. We had the room with the spa bath with a view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed in the private villa for an evening after playing Kauri Cliffs. What a great place. Clean, quiet and just down the road from Kerikeri main area. Very beautiful gardens and accomodateion. Will stay here again if I ever make it to Bay of Islands.-

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nflorek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hi nflorek and thank you for your review. We also hope you return and stay longer to challenge yourself again for another round at Kauri Cliffs beautiful golf course, and while you're at it, could do the Bay of Islands and Waitangi courses as well!. I'm sure we will see you in the Bay of Island again. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We booked the whole villa as we were a group of 6. One couple had to stay in the cottage. Unfortunately the cottage cannot compete with the rooms in the main house. The cottage is more basic and not luxurious.

The two rooms in the main house were beautiful. No doubt the premium suite is the best choice if you plan on staying here.

Rob and Lionel are great hosts and they help you with whatever you need. Their breakfasts are delicious and they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Their restaurant and excursion tips were perfect.

The Moongate Villa is a lovely retreat in this area. It is pretty central to most activities but you cannot reach any restaurants within walking distance.

The reason why I have rated them with 4 instead of 5 is due to the cottage.

Room Tip: Definitely choose the premium suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cape-town-best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Hi cape-town-best, and many thanks for your review. You were an exuberant group and we were delighted to be your hosts in the Bay of Islands.

Yes, our orchard cottage is a different experience to staying in the main villa. Most of our guests love its cosy privacy in the garden, but we understand that this may be different when you are travelling as a group.

We trust that you had a successful trip; you enjoyed lots of wonderful restaurants and wineries, and discovered the best of New Zealand food and wine. You folk really know your food, so we are pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If anybody is looking for accommodation in the Bay of Islands area, they should seriously consider Moon Gate Villa at Keri Keri.Lionel and Rob are exceptional hosts and the rooms and surrounding gardens are beautiful and very calming. Lionel's breakfast is superb. We will be back. Another recommendation is the Pizza place in Keri Keri called the Aegean Pizzeria which has the best pizza we have ever tasted. John & Christy

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGCT128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Hi Guys,
Thank you for your wonderful review and Rob and I look forward to your return one day.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We arrived late due to late take off in Melbourne but this was no problem for Rob and Lionel who offered to organise dinner for us. From the moment we arrived we experienced first class treatment. We stayed in the main room for 3 nights which was luxurious, huge very comfortable bed and luxurious toiletries. This was our first holiday as a couple, Rob and Lionel were superb hosts and it was no effort for them to book restaurants or show us the best places to visit in this stunning part of the world. Breakfast was superb and freshly prepared - Lionel you are amazing. Thank you so much for everything and we will come back again - with more friends. Alf & Andrew

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room you stay in as they are all fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hello Alf & Andrew,
I am so glad you both enjoyed your stay here and we would love to see you both again with friends in tow! I hope the rest of your travels in NZ went well and your trip back home was smooth and all flights left on time! All the best to you both for your future plans together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
1.6 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
9.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Treghan Luxury Lodge
#1 of 28 in Kerikeri
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
The Sanctuary @ Bay of Islands
12.5 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 19 in Russell
246 reviews
2 mi away
Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Gate Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Gate Villa

Address: 462 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range: £140 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moon Gate Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the shape of Cupid’s bow, Moon Gate Villa was originally designed for a romance novelist. Its timeless and elegant design offers sumptuous accommodation surrounded by 1.5 acres of gardens, waterfalls and reflective pools. Private suites feature luxury linens, in-house movies, exclusive guest lounge and access to the heated pool.Free hi-speed Internet and a full breakfast is included in all our rates. Evening dining by arrangement. A hidden treasure, 2 minutes from Kerikeri village in the heart of the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moon Gate Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing