We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moon Gate Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moon Gate Villa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“An amazing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed at Moon Gate for our honeymoon and it was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble, and the accommodation and breakfast each morning were exceptional. We will definitely recommend Moon Gate to our family and friends!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiep01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
171
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We (my husband, my daugther and I) stayed for two nigths at Moon Gate Villa during our three weeks in New Zealand. It was definitely outstanding among the 13 places we stayed at. Fantastic hosts, very kind and helpful, giving lots of recommendations for our vacation. The rooms and the garden with pool was very nice and the breakfast was extraordinary delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin_20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Moon Gate Villa over Christmas. The hosts are lovely and were always helpful with fantastic recommendations for restaurants or activities. The garden is beautiful and the breakfast was delicious. We stayed in the little cottage in the garden which was just perfect. We can absolut recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 783Stefanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We spent two wonderful nights at Moon Gate Villa last week. The house was lovely, the garden beautiful and our room excellent. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Particularly liked our Designer Room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stancroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife, my son and I have stayed in several hotels and bed & breakfast last december and we can say that it was the number one.
Lovely hosts, wonderful house and perfect breakfast. I abssolutly recomend

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luiso89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The cottage was a superb little place, well laid out and maintained. It was close enough to the main building to allow access to other facilities, which included an idyllic pool and sunbathing area.
Wonderful and friendly service from the hosts helped make it a truly memorable stay in a beautiful part of the country.

Room Tip: Book the cottage, if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan8882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Hosts went out of their way to ensure our stay was a good one. The room was very tidy and clean. All the amenities were fantastic and worked well. Perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. Bed was perfect and the breakfast served was better than any café or restaurant could do. Local knowledge and advise was great and they happily booked restaurants or helped us with a car hire. Very helpful and top notch service.
The location is very nicely set in perfect gardens and away from the main road, so very tranquil and quiet.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be of top quality and all situated around the garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
8.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.9 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
1.5 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
2.1 mi away
Stone Store Lodge Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Gate Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Gate Villa

Property: Moon Gate Villa
Address: 462 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Moon Gate Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the shape of Cupid’s bow, Moon Gate Villa was originally designed for a romance novelist. Its timeless and elegant design offers sumptuous accommodation surrounded by 1.5 acres of gardens, waterfalls and reflective pools. Private suites feature luxury linens, in-house movies, exclusive guest lounge and access to the heated pool.Free hi-speed Internet and a full breakfast is included in all our rates. Evening dining by arrangement. A hidden treasure, 2 minutes from Kerikeri village in the heart of the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Moon Gate Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing