We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive on the HMNZS Canterbury”
Review of Dive North

Dive North
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Kerikeri
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Dive North offer fantastic dive trips in the Bay of Islands with free pick ups in Paihia and Kerikeri so you can explore NZ's subtropical paradise! Catering specifically for the diver, we also offer onsite B & B, great lunches including legendary home made Lemon Cake and two great dive boats with full cover from the elements, for you to relax in while cruising the Bay of Islands. Come and join our most popular dive trips; exploring ship wrecks Rainbow Warrior and HMNZS Canterbury and the beautiful reefs too! Based in the heart of the Bay of Islands, we are the only operator who does the Divers Big Day Out - dive both wrecks (Rainbow Warrior & HMNZS Canterbury) in one day! Only 1 day to dive? Advanced diver or more? Then our unique Divers Big Day Out! trip is the answer. Learn to dive in the best hands with PADI and SSI courses, all dives in the sea from the boat - no chlorine pools and floating plasters here! Open Water courses just take 3 days and Advanced Open Water just 2 days and you get to dive both the wrecks as part of your course! Personal service, great customer care and highly professional - Dive North; NZ Wide Diving Winners 2012 & 2013 and Certificate of Excellence 2014 winners - book now and experience the Dive North difference!
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Had a great dive, nice small group, well organized. Felt very confident and safe the whole time. Enjoyed the extra commentary on the way to and from the dive site.

Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thanks Jim for your review, glad you liked the balance of safety and a good days diving. Cheers Sue & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Dive North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

To everybody wanting a first class diving and hospitality experience, we would recommend Dive North in Kerikeri every time. Both myself "Bruce"and my wife Jackie can not praise Sue and Dave and their staff enough for their kind but professional approach both to the diving and to the open house approach.
We arrived at the dive north shop on march 5th 2014 in a camper van, we had full use of their house for a small cost of $10 for showers, toilet and cooking facilities. We spent the night relaxing with all the guests.
The second night we booked a bed in their house, which was like staying in a hotel, with breakfast included.
You can book a lunch whilst diving for $10 each, loads of hot drinks and don't forget the lemon cake!!!!!!
The diving equipment was all new if you are considering hiring your kit.
All the diving staff looked after the teams they dived with, set all the equipment up and took numerous photo's on each dive, which they e-mail to you.
My wife had a small blip with the first dive which was the Greenpeace Rainbow Warrior, so Dave took her down once all the team was back on board the inn keeper, which Jackie was truly greatful for. The other dives were the Cravelli island tunnel, the HMNZS Canterbury, and Puhatahata reef, and cave, which were all great dives.
All in all fantastic service and for those diving on their own, you will be well looked after and treated as one of the family.
Thanks Dave and Sue

Thank BRUCE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Bruce, it was our pleasure to have you dive n stay with us, we loved your company and are so happy that you enjoyed the two days of diving and especially for Jackie to dive the Rainbow Warrior. Thanks again, Sue & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Dive North is owned and operated by Dave and his wife Sue. They run the shop from the front yard of their home and rest of the staff either lives with them, or is nearby. I was fortunate enough to stay in their home in one of their spare bedrooms that they offer as a bed and breakfast, $80 NZD a night.
Your first dive is around $230 (2 dive day) and successive dives is around $195 for additional dives. Very good deal considering the boat trip to the dive sites, the gear rentals, and the lunch for an additional $10.
Personally, having dived sites around Thailand, Vietnam, and The Caymans, I will say that the day out diving the Rainbow Warrior and the Tunnels in the Cavalli Islands was one the best dive combos I have ever had.
Dive North was friendly, educated, and made me feel at home with them. I will definitely be coming back to their operation.
If you are diving the Bay of Islands. Dive North

Thank Cichosz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hey Trevor! What great feedback, we're stoked you had such a great time diving with us, especially hearing about the Rainbow Warrior and Tunnels dive combo. We loved having you here and sharing some of the uniqueness of the Bay of Islands. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I had a fantastic days diving on the Rainbow Warrior and a drift ish. Great people, knowledgeable guide, nice cake and Milo too, what's not to like.

Thank BigSi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thanks very much for your feedback and so pleased you enjoyed the Rainbow Warrior - she won't be there forever so it's good to get down to see her for sure! Glad you enjoyed the cake (courtesy of me, Sue, and the Milo, well it's Dave's top side specialty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My brother and I had an amazing weekend doing our Advanced Diving with the Dive North crew! They were very organised and took lots of amazing photos while we dived two shipwrecks and learned how to navigate! P.S. the hot chocolates were amazing

Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Success is the name of the game Rebecca and you and Tom are the winners. The Advanced course diving the two wrecks here with us is most definitely the best and we're chuffed for you both. 'HIGH FIVE' to the Russell to Paihia Snorkel Scuba Race 2013 too for auctioning the courses, thanks again to you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dive North also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Bay of Islands, Northland Region
Waipapa, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Dive North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing