We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pagoda Lodge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pagoda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pagoda Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Pagoda Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We had a great few days at Pagoda Lodge - the accommodation in the cottage was great and the setting was beautiful. Our kids had lots of fun running about the place and it was handy being able to walk into town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowcarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    24
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
41
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

I stayed here after a chaotic week spent with family (including small children) at the beach, in order to have some downtime, and was glad I did! I stayed in the Boathouse, which has a view from the queen bed of the river. I spent a lot of time napping, reading and watching the bird life around the river. Just relaxing in general. Heaven. The boathouse is really quirky and unique, scrupulously clean and comfortable, I would definitely recommend it. Hosts were helpful and friendly without being intrusive. I'll definitely be back - next time I might try the tent that is set up to the left of the Boathouse, as the view looked amazing.

Room Tip: If you don't want to spend the money to rent the Boathouse but want a similar view there is a te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarnsdubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

This accommodation suited us very well - a comfortable cottage accommodating a family of 5 (including 3 teenage daughters). A beautiful site on the water - great BBQ and outside dining areas and sharing with the campers was not an issue. Great being able to walk from our accommodation to the Stonehouse and into town and all the way to Rainbow Falls!
Beds were comfortable - so were the pillows - all faciilities were fine.
We had no complaints and felt this was good value and met all our needs.
From here we also did the "Ocean Adventure" from Pahia - highly recommend and the markets on Sunday morning in Keri Keri - well worthwhile for yummy local produce!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

That place is simply awesome !!! The main building is coming out of a movie, an elegant and majestic 3 storeys pagoda. Then you can either camp on your tent, or "glamp" on permanent tents, or even experience the life of gypsies like we did in one of the many caravans ! It has got everything in it: fridge, sofa, and a nice queen bed !
There is a river in the property so you can hire kayak, wildlife is everywhere, the outdoors are well maintained, loads of flowers and green (you are in NZ !).
The owner was very amicable, welcomable, even offered us a present as it was Christmas !
Facilities are clean and you can have breaky / lunch / diner on a huge outdoor deck with the view on the river.
We spend 2 nights there, it was rainy but still we loved it !

Room Tip: Ask for the caravan with the outdoor bath tub so you can enjoy a hot night bath under the stars !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed here in a permanent tent. It was great to have a real bed, a fridge and a few lights, and not to have to pack and unpack a tent. We stayed dry in the rain too. The owners are welcoming and helpful. The location is wonderful. Overlooking a small river valley the bird life is abundant and interesting (even if you aren't particularly in to birds), and the river is lovely for kayaks (which you can rent at the Pagoda Lodge). All of the other visitors were very nice people - a very international feeling. Massive modern wooden deck with cover available for eating with a view was great. All very tranquil and great for families too. The only downsides for us were the shared facilities (showers, toilets etc), which were old, not that clean and full of spiders. Also, the lack of 100% gauranteed clean drinking water (i understand that the water is fed from the river and filtered). That's just us though - if it doesn't bother you then I highly recommend this location to stay in.

Room Tip: Get as close to the view as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hattie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Pagoda Lodge is a very special camp ground/ Lodge. The owners have put a lot of work into making it a wonderfully relaxing and tranquil place to stay, and a very pleassant camping experience!
The grounds are beautiful, the river right on your doorstep, and they've thought of everything you might need.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Pagoda, and it certainly won't be the last... It offers more than you could hope for and then some. We went up to The Pagoda Lodge to spend New Years with a large group of our friends who were all impressed with the venue and it's magically surroundings... We stayed in Pagoda 2 and it has everything that you could possibly ask for, and with it's own deck, it's perfect for entertaining... The hosts of Pagoda couldn't be nicer and we can't recommend them enough...

There is a stunning path that leads to the Stone Stone, which takes about 10mins, that is an absolute must!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.5 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stay Kerikeri
Stay Kerikeri
#7 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Relax a Lodge
Relax a Lodge
#11 of 26 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Lodge

Property: Pagoda Lodge
Address: 81 Pa Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pagoda Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pagoda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing