We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Child friendly”

Chang Siam Thai Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 39 Restaurants in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chang Siam Thai Restaurant is set in beautiful countryside in Kerikeri and is just a few minutes walk from the 'world famous in Kerikeri' Rainbow Falls. The Head Chef grew up cooking with his mum in Thailand and he and his Thai team create the most delicious authentic Thai cuisine. The chefs blend authentic Thai flavours to create sensational dishes and offer a “chef’s special” menu, which is immensely popular. There is an extensive vegetarian section and also Thai dishes for young adults. The extensive wine list is professionally matched to Thai food and is competitively priced. Lunches, takeaway and dinners available every day except Tuesday.Service is a top priority for the whole team and the restaurant has already become widely known for both its outstanding food and attentive (but not intrusive) staff. The whole atmosphere is enhanced by a pleasant décor, live jazz music on Friday nights.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Child friendly”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The food was great, the price was great, the people are nice and there is a big grassy area out back with flowers, picnic tables. Our 2 year old boy got to run around, and chase all the butterflies he wanted while we ate lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    56
    13
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chang Siam, a great place to eat”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Despite the fact that there was a large group booked for the same evening we had excellent service at our table for two and there was a wide range of choices in both food and wine. The food, as always, was excellent and I look forward to returning there. Thank you Charles and staff, we felt very well cared for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I went to Chang Siam with a friend last week. Even though there was a large group of people (children and adults) celebrating a birthday, this did not detract from our visit to Chang Siam. I liked the way the owner made a fuss of the birthday girl, and the staff even came out to join in the birthday song. Regardless of the size of the group, the other guests in the restaurant were well taken care of. And the food was delicious, beautifully presented and full of flavour. The meal was not rushed and in all we spent a very pleasant two hours over good food, good wine and good company. Thank you Charles and staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicki407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otaki
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of options but...”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Was disappointed dishes could not be changed in spice (hotness). Sauces were pre-made which is ok, but they should come in more than just one option. Missed out on green curry and had yellow curry instead which looked incredible but was extremely average in taste.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chemiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
activetradingnz, Owner at Chang Siam Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
I do apologise for any misunderstanding. However every dish on the menu can be served from very mild right through to Thai hot. The only exception is the Thai green curry, which is always very hot.

Our menu states that dishes can be varied in heat and generally staff make this known verbally too. In this example yellow curry can be served mild, hot, hotter and Thai hot.

If you are ever unhappy with a meal from Chang Siam, please do let a staff member know, and we will do what we can to rectify.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Group Function Feedback”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It is very surprising to read the negative review from the birthday party group recently. My local club held a group function last year. We had the restaurant booked out for our function which included local club members, family and guests and also club members from Whangarei and Kaitaia. As far as I am aware every one of the 60 attendees thought the food was terrific, the service impeccable and our cake was cut to perfection. We are still talking about was a wonderful night that was had by all. I have since frequented this restaurant will family and friends and cannot fault their food, service or management in anyway.

It makes me wonder if this recent birthday group accommodated the workings of a very busy restaurant and if they were flexible in any way to help make it work for everybody. I would expect some delay in the kitchen if a group was ordering a different meal at the same time and it would not surprise me if a meal was mixed up along the way either. It's no big deal in the scheme of things. The expectations of the the birthday group seem a little too high really and we it comes down to it, you make it want you want it to be.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rocky127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chang Siam Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Chang Siam Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing