We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 30 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

As good as you can get - this retreat is so peaceful yet really up together.

Good accommodation; locality; hospitality; tranquility.

Chris and Geoff know their business and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaxB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Wow, you were only with us the one night and your review is so generous. Thank you so much. Hope your returns to Uni did not detract too much from enjoying the rest of your time in NZ. Hopefully you will return and we will have the opportunity of looking after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
139
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

A first time B&B experience. Every thing was so perfect. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast a great way to start the day. Geoff and Chris are so caring and their attention to detail is unsurpassed. Wait to you see their beautiful garden complete the watering train. For anyone staying from overseas Geoff and Chris have an extensive knowledge of the area, both places to visit and to eat. They are more than just B&B operators, they are the complete tour guides as well.

Thank you both.

Room Tip: The peaceful end room, furtherest away from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 768Pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
We are honoured to be the B&B that was your first B&B experience. Thank you so much for having the confidence to make a reservation with us and from your kind comments it looks like we lived up to the trust you placed in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

If it is peace, comfort and a room with space to relax, 88 Lodge is ideal. Situated just north of Kerikeri this lodge provides a rest cure with no traffic noise and access to a park-like garden. The hosts provide excellent advice on restaurants and cafes, as well as attractions, and can speak of them with knowledge gained from personal experience. Breakfasts are an experience with local fruit and produce and a creamy yoghurt produced on site. I certainly would stay again when in the North of the country.

Room Tip: The end room was our choice. It provided easy chairs in the area leading on to the patio, as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
What a lovely review for us, thank you so much. We do pride ourselves on our different approach to ‘breakfast’ which we always enjoy preparing, but the major pleasure is hearing that our efforts meet with such praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

A great find in a great country. Chris and Geoff are the perfect hosts in this wonderful B&B. the attention to detail was just right. Our room was extremely comfortable and a great size and the bathroom was beautiful. Really enjoyed the dining in Kerikeri thanks to the recommendations of Geoff and Chris. The Bay of Islands is a spectacular area and the Lodge made it even more special. Baiba & Peter McGowan.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baiba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you much for this kind review. The Bay of Islands is so spectacular that to be compared along side of it is a real accolade. One we will treasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woldingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

88 Lodge was to be our first experience of NZ B&B's on our six week adventure of North and South Island and we were more than pleasantly surprised. In fact 88 Lodge turned out to be our favourte B&B!! Geoff and Chris were brilliant hosts, nothing was too much trouble; breakfasts were fabulous, anything was possible but best of all were the fruit salads, the fresh yoghurt with fruit coulis toppings and Chris's homemade croissants - far better than any we've tasted in France!!! Geoff was so helpful with ideas and itineries for our various tours around Northland, with maps, plus his recommendations for places to eat were first class. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable; beautiful bed linen and a lovely large bathroom with shower and bath. The gardens were a delight, beautifully kept; we didn't have time to take a dip in the pool but it looked beautiful. Geoff and Chris worked very hard to make everything perfect for our stay. If we ever return to New Zealand we will definately make a return visit to 88 Lodge.
88 Lodge is perfectly located to tour all of Northland but to do this we would recommend a stay of 4 nights, minimum.

Room Tip: Choose the Majestic suite for the space and wonderful view of the garden, plus your own private terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
What a wonderful review. Thank you so much. You are so right when you say a 4-night stay is so important to really get a good view of Northland. There is so much to do in this very under-experienced region of New Zealand that even 4 nights may well not be long enough.
Chris has been perfecting some new fruit toppings for the breakfast yogurt. The latest edition is ‘Kiwipassion’ A beautiful mix of Gold Kiwifruit and Passionfruit. You are more than welcome to return to 88 and enjoy this new addition to our breakfast pleasures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

My wife and I had spent 24 days in New Zealand [NZ] before coming to 88 Lodge in Kerikeri for three of our five final nights in NZ. In that time we had stayed in many wonderful B & Bs, accommodations, and motels—and we found 88 Lodge to be among the ranks of excellent NZ B & Bs. It has a lovely setting with phenomenal hosts who prepare extraordinary breakfasts. The grounds of 88 Lodge are striking.
Although our room was on the small side for a B & B, it was exquisitely decorated and appointed. The bathroom was very nice. On the outer side of the room there was a door to a long patio with tables and chairs. We sat there all three evenings with a bottle of wine; very lovely, very serene, very comforting, very romantic. On the inner side of the room was a door to an inside hall leading to the living room and dining room, both beautifully decorated.
For each of our three nights there, we relied on Geoff for dining recommendations, and his advice was right on each time. The breakfasts were prepared in the main by Chris, and his food was simply wonderful—most especially his homemade croissants with their homemade jams and jellies.
Know that if choose to stay at 88 Lodge [and we would certainly stay there if we were to return to this area], you are “out in the country.” Indeed, down the road is an avocado farm [plantation?], and the B & B is on a dirt road. This wonderful inn is not on the water and does not have a water view, but, as I said, my wife and I would stay there again. Many visitors to this area stay in Paihia or across the bay in Russell. We visited both places, and we think the best place to stay was 88 Lodge. Paihia is very touristy, and most of the structures there are inns, restaurants, and souvenir shops. Quaint is not a word I would use to describe Paihia. Russell on the other hand is quaint, but if one stays there, getting to and from involves a 30 minute drive around the bay or waiting for the ferry to get back over to Paihia--where you have to pay to park your car. We found 88 Lodge to be ideally located for day trips [e.g., Cape Reinga, Waitangi National Reserve, Hoikianga Harbor], and for its proximity to outstanding restaurants. And if you were looking for serenity in a B & B, this would be the place to be.

Room Tip: Have Geoff book any tours for you, he will be able to obtain a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
We are so elated and appreciative that you have obviously taken so much time to prepare your kind and fulsome review. To class us as ‘amongst the ranks of excellent NZ B&B’s’ is such an accolade. The geography of the bay and local areas does not place us ‘on the water’ but as you say we are ideally located for all the best things in the area. With 4 very different rooms we are able to offer a variety of choices at different price points. Our Majestic Suite offers nearly 70 m2 of wonderful space and comfort, plus a terrace with table and chairs hammock & sun loungers. Space and facilities not often found in any B&B. When you return to 88 Lodge we will be happy to up grade you to our Majestic Suite with our compliments for your wonderful review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

The lodge was so clean.
The garden was very beautiful
and more importantly
The hosts were very kind and friendly.
There are many places to visit around Kerikeri and 88 lodge is pretty much close to many of them.
I am very sure that you will enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Majid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
One of the best things about owning a B&B is that you get to meet such a broad spectrum of people. It was wonderful meeting you both and learning a little of your culture. We wish you both the very best for the arrival of your new little bundle of joy and do please send us a picture of the happy family. We'd loove to see it.
As you rightly say 88 Lodge is so central to enjoy all of the wonderful areas of Northland and The Bay of Islands, and yet so quite and peaceful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
3.1 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
3.1 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
3.6 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
2.9 mi away
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Treghan Luxury Lodge
#2 of 30 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.1 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 30 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: 88 Koropewa Road, Kerikeri 0295, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from bustling Kerikeri 88 Lodge & its swimming pool are secluded within park-like subtropical gardens. With just 3 rooms (all en-suite), the lodge is warm, intimate and homely. Your room has a King sized bed and is fully equipped with everything you will need to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Breakfasts are a specialty of the house and made to your order from the freshest & most local produce. Free High Speed Internet & National telephone calls make keeping in touch so easy. 88 Lodge is perfectly located for the best of The Bay of Islands and all Northland. Geoff & Chris your hosts, pride themselves on ensuring you have the most memorable time in this wonderful part of New Zealand. Their hospitality is only matched by their local knowledge and free tour planning to ensure you make the very most of your time in this piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing