We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a special place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 114 on Waipapa

114 on Waipapa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kerikeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
114 on Waipapa
Ranked #13 of 30 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a special place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

Staying at 114, and visiting the Bay of Islands was 1 of the highlights of a fantastic 1 month holiday in New Zealand. Our room was spacious, light and luxurious - with dressing room, lovely bathroom and private deck.
We were wonderfully looked after - chilled beers and wines on hand for us to purchase, and advice and help given to plan our time whilst staying there, including some great restaurant choices. We opted for a day on the tall ship, R Tucker Thompson which also surpassed our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peej03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2008

Where do I start about this Bed and Breakfast?

It’s absolutely serene. Character that no hotel or motel could parallel. All rooms come with an en suite and its own private deck, overlooking huge well manicured lawns. Hosts Catherine and Bridget could not be more welcoming.

The large house is a mixture of modern and old country, and as a result it is very, very cozy. If you wanted to just have a weekend away in a quiet and serene place you won’t be disappointed. I can picture this venue to be perfect for weddings.

  • Liked — The house and room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shelby_C_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2007

I have stayed at this bed and breakfast a couple of times while visiting relatives in Northland - it is magic!

I want to say that it's more like a boutique hotel....the rooms are immaculate and the thing that impressed me was how private it was - being a beautiful big house on acres of rolling lawn it is not your average 'B&B'. The guest rooms are completely private and are more like individual, private hotel rooms each with their own bathroom and shower.

The hospitality I received from these people was superb - warm, welcoming but happy to leave you to wander and relax. And they make a great G&T!

On this latest trip - my wife had a facial at The Treatment - it is the onsite day spa as one of the owners in a past life was had her own beauty therapy business in Auckland.

One last thing - their breakfast are very tasty and Bridget one of the other owners makes a point of using local produce - just perfect.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank makh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2007

I was greeted by Bridget with a wonderful smile and a quick tour. The house had a vase of fresh old fashioned roses in every room. The building is set in a magnificent garden and the rooms each have a private deck. The bedroom was lux with beautiful crisp cotton sheets (my fav) and the most comfortable bed imaginable! A fantastic designer ensuite with a magic shower. Just what I needed after spending a day photographing in the rain! Not to mention a stack of delicious magazines from around the world next to my bed. The house is a lovely mix of contemporary with a few great antiques. The wonderful sisters Bridget & Catherine took turns to do breakfast (the best home made muesli I have ever tasted) and were both great company & full of great suggestions on how best to spend my free time checking out the local area. Don't miss the farmers market if you are around on a Sunday! An added bonus is the on site day spa! This place just oozed great energy and I came away feeling totally spoiled rotten!

  • Liked — The incredibly comfy bed, great shower and fantastic hosts
  • Disliked — Leaving it
  • Tips/Secrets — Treat yourself!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank missmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
1.1 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
2.8 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.8 mi away
Relax a Lodge
Relax a Lodge
#11 of 26 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
5.3 mi away
Bay of Islands Country Lodge Motel
2.8 mi away
Kerikeri Park Motel
Kerikeri Park Motel
#3 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 114 on Waipapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 114 on Waipapa

Property: 114 on Waipapa
Address: 114 Waipapa Road | RD2, Kerikeri 0295, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing