We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Peaceful Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

we stayed one night here it is set in gorgeous gardens with little paths that weave around the cottages, very private and a great deck that overlooks the subtropical gardens, good sized cottage with kitchen

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoppadownunder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We had a fabulous two nights here, the cottage had everything we needed and the beds were very comfortable. Tania was very friendly and helpful, and we were visited by the famous chicken, as well as by plenty of local birdlife. The gardens were lovely to wander in; they inspired me to get stuck into my supposedly tropical-look garden at home. It was great to have the cafe so close as well. I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever in or near Kerikeri.

Room Tip: We had cottage 4 which had a sunny deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pH_H219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at Wharepuke for 2 nights with our 3 children. The 1 bedroom units are compact, but we managed to use the foldout couch for the teenager, a squab bed for the 10 year old and the 5 year old shared the King size bed. Would be more ideal for a couple though. The units have a two burner hob, toaster, microwave and fridge, so cooking is an option.The setting is lovely, with the pathway up through dense greenery, a herb bed and tropical gardens on your doorstep and a very friendly hostess. Having the award winning Wharepuke Food Cafe on the premises was an added bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GourmetTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We are actually still here as I write this review as we can't leave! Its too glorious! I am on the deck surrounded by Kingfisher (very much an interloper on his patch!), Tuis, Fantails, spuggies (sparrows), gold finch, bird of paradise plants (keeping up the avian theme) and a chicken (yes, a chicken), looking out on to magnificent sub tropical gardens about to purloin herbs for supper from the owners herb garden at her insistence.

There are 6 cabins in this little piece of paradise but you simply wouldn't know it, so clever is the layout, you are encouraged to wander round the gardens and to visit the gallery housed within and also on the grounds in a perfect symbiosis is the cafe/restaurant "Food at Wharepuke".

A little background to our stay - we set out from Auckland on the Cape Reinga mission, we wanted to travel budget but not backpack budget, ie to have our own rooms with en suite, not because we're anti-social just at an age where we still want a bit of adventure but a bit of comfort too! At the time of writing we have been to and returned from our mission and in both directions have been seduced by Kerikeri, it's location, atmosphere, friendliness of its people, in to staying 2 nights in either direction which was never the plan. This is a testament to both accommodations we have stayed in and our hosts as well as anything else. If you do it our way you'll spend quality time both here at Wharepuke and on Aroha Island 12km north of Kerikeri.

This place is stunning, its at the top end of budget but after the Cape Reinga drive you'll really think you deserve this little bit of (Green) luxury. Before committing you're invited to come and view the accommodation, but once you've seen it you'll have no option but to book. I would urge anyone to stay in this subtropical piece of paradise...unless you have a morbid fear of chickens (singular actually not plural) but I'll leave you to discover why for yourself...just don't leave the muesli on the deck!!

Room Tip: We rather liked cabin 4 for its garden location, take a stroll to the lake for Kingfisher action
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

A beautiful place, comfortable accommodation, all cabins set in private gardens. Our helpful hosts invited us to help ourselves to the tropical fruit growing around us. Every night we had the benefit of an award-winning restaurant a short walk down a fairy-lit path. We loved it so much we extended our stay another 2 days. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: all rooms equally private and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjerkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

In July 2012 my wife and I stayed in the well appointed self-catering accommodation at Wharepuke for four weeks - one of the most restful and carefree holidays we have had. It was an ideal base for exploring Northland (the northern part of New Zealand's North Island) and only a few minutes away from the town of Kerikeri where there were excellent shoping facilities. The chalets are set in beautiful grounds which, even in the winter months, were a delight - full of the sounds of birds and the complete absence of the noise one associates with urban life. As another contributor had remarked, one also had the pleasure of being greeted morning and night by the resident chicken ! Tania and her mother who deputised for her at the begining of our stay were extremely welcoming and helpful. If, as we hope to do, we return to this part of NZ someday, without doubt we shall revisited Wharepuke.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0707David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Very private, comfortable and affordable accommodation... close to Kerikeri and easy to access all the treats the area has to offer. Friendly helpful owner/operator. If going to BOI, this is definitely the pick of the bunch for accommodation in my opinion. And you may even have a morning visitor waiting when you open your curtains (chicken) on your private deck. Don't overlook the cafe/restaurant on site. The surroundings/gardens at the property are devine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.4 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
1.2 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
0.1 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
2.3 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kerikeri Park Motel
Kerikeri Park Motel
#4 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation

Property: Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation
Address: 190 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay of Islands Accommodation Kerikeri Accommodation. 5 stylish cottages nestled amongst 5 acres of award winning "Garden of Significance"(NZGT). A restaurant/cafe awarded "Northland Cafe of the Year" and an Art Gallery of International Artworks are onsite. A new Sculpture trail of 40+ NZ and international artists work runs through the gardens (free for guests staying). Non-toxic printmaking courses and garden tours are run by our professionals. Located 1km from the boutique town of Kerikeri or walking distance to the historic Stone Store Reserve. 20 Min. Drive to dolphin watching, fishing, horse riding, wineries, and 6 golf courses within 30 min. Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing