We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Style!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Blue

Cafe Blue
Ranked #32 of 39 Restaurants in Kerikeri
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Friendly welcome awaits you in this bright and funky cafe Our own blend of beans blended and roasted locally for a great coffee open 7 days aweek our Blueboard! menu is available all day or you can choose from the cabinets of home made goodies
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home Style!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great lunch at Cafe Blue with the kids today, old school home made ours, sausage rolls and doorstep sambos! Deffo with a visit, will pop in next time we're in Keri Keri (visiting from Auckland).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMerrittsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place ,cottage feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Im a local ,and spend time enjoying the many cafes& eateries in& around kerikeri while working on my art,good food and atmosphere is important for me,
I have only recently decided to try out café blue, im glad I did ,
Service is friendly ,warm welcomeing ,food is good ,prices are good ,they even did icecreams here as well!!
There something for everyone,even if your gluten free like me ,they cater for this as well ,with out any fuss,some places don't
When it comes too flies I haven't being to any eatery or café in kerikeri that doesn't have them in the warmer humid months in kerikeri.
The interior is quirky here adding to the café friendly atmosphere ,well worth checking out

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank painter330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The place to go if in town. Good service. nice coffee. Had lunch special salmon and avocardo salad and a bacon eggs Benedict both lovely meals. Fully enjoyable. Will be going back to try the Cornish pastie.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cafe Yuk”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Visiting Kerikeri at the weekend, went for brunch, it was awful, flies flying around, damp and cold, louvre window was open above us and we got dripped on often. The coffee was terrible, brunch for the 4 of us the worst meal we had all ever had. The poached eggs were hard, the scrambled eggs were cold, the order was mucked up and they forgot the salmon! Would not recommend Cafe Blue to anyone unless you don't care what you eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blackie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafeblue582, Owner at Cafe Blue, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
OK Flies we did have a few when you have the hot weather and a cyclone in progress then tend to come inside wet yes it was very wet Damp well you might be but our cafe is cerainly NOT !!wrong meal well the lady who ordered the scrambled eggs PESTO!!got it wrong as she was ordering for the Gentleman we quiqkly supplied the salmon no extra charge Yes we could have handled it better but if we ask a customer TWICE if all OK and they respond yep ok what more can we do . why dont you respond by saying what your greviances are then at least we can try and put things right like your eggs. have spoke to a customer who was in at the same time as yourselves they had no prob with flies ect maybe they came in with you who knows .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
442 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Worth checking out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We took a chance with this, not knowing the place at all and not having been in Kerikeri since 1972. It has changed a lot.

Generally we felt the service was good - fast and efficient. The food arrived promptly and was good overall. The main street setting is basic but adequate. Food and coffee quality was good although a single lettuce leaf garnish had seen better days and should really have been discarded rather than used. It was surprising the person responsible for preparation had not even noticed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Blue also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Cafe Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing