We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ribs are great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Black Olive

The Black Olive
Ranked #21 of 39 Restaurants in Kerikeri
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family friendly funky atmosphere relaxed and friendly, great food and great prices. Takeaway and dine in
Kerikeri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The ribs are great”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We love to visit The Black Olive if we fancy Ribs.

They are very tasty and tender and well priced.

The service is always good and staff are very friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinnieKerikeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    79
    28
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Was a bit hard to locate at night, but the homemade bread was super and I loved the stuffed rolled chicken...great flavor!! My husband was not terribly impressed with the pizza however...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jmbhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect timing”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This little restaurant was a great pit stop, the food was wholesome and good, service a little frantic at the start of the night but once a couple of big tables and a birthday cleared became personable and interactive. I rate this place a solid 4 out of 5.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shooter_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service, atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Highly recommend Black Olive, it has something for everyone. The pizza menu is great if you're after something simple, the main menu has some delicious options, and the desserts are fabulous. Especially the sticky toffee pudding. :-) The service was top notch & the restaurant is well designed so that it can suit couples, families & groups. We were in Kerikeri for 5-nights & liked Black Olive so much we went back twice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwilizd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KERIKERI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine food Excellant service”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Another place that I haven't visited for a while, those guys know how to cook, from Pizzas to Steaks lots to chose from and delicious.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TROPHYKerikeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Olive also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing