We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Landing Cottage”
Review of Landing Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landing Cottage
Ranked #6 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Grand Forks, BC
1 review
“Wonderful Landing Cottage”
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Wendy and Tony have created an immaculate, beautifully decorated and peaceful cottage in Kerikeri. It was the final stop in our 6 week trip to New Zealand and we so enjoyed our 3 nights there. Meals are beautifully presented and the hosts are most helpful with suggestions to make one's holiday very special.
We will return to stay at Landing Cottage should we return to NZ from Canada.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank GrandForks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2008

Wendy and Tony are the owners of this beautiful property close to historic attractions in Kerikeri. Wendy welcomed us on our arrival and provided many options for our 3 day stay close to the Bay of Islands. Whilst there was just the 2 of us, we had the run of the apartment with 3 double bedrooms in self contained quarters, as well as a living room and patio area. The apartment was stylishly decorated and immaculately clean with new furnishings and many personal touches, as well as a lot of useful local information.

Breakfast was served by Wendy in the owners' property. Everything was freshly prepared, including home made muesli and freshly ground coffee. Breakfast even included produce grown in the garden.

Kerikeri is a perfect location in itself but also central to Bay of Islands and Northland. Wendy and Tony are knowledgable and interesting people and great company. This was one of the highlights of our 3 weeks + in New Zealand, and much better accomodation and hospitality than many more expensive places we stayed in. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Landing Cottage to others.

Brian and Jill

  • Liked — The hostrs, the food, the loca
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Robbie_Pegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2008

This outstanding B & B provides luxurious accommodation in a beautiful and tranquil setting.

Hosts Tony and Wendy have thoughtfully provided many amenities you might not even find in a 4 star hotel making this much more than a B&B. Spotlessly clean and nicely appointed bedrooms and bathroom, comfortable lounge area and outside decking amid beautiful gardens make it hard to tear yourself away after a delicious breakfast each morning and provides a welcome place to return to at the end of a long day's sightseeing.

Tony and Wendy are wonderful hosts and share their knowledge of all that the beautiful Bay of Islands and surrounding areas have to offer so you have the information you need to make the most of your stay in this lovely region of New Zealand.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tinyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline, Washington USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2008

We began our ten-day New Zealand holiday with a two-day stay with Wendy and Tony. What a wonderful way to start a fabulous trip. We unreservedly recommend the Landing Cottage to Kiwis and visitors from around the world.

The accommodations are first rate, particularly for families, with three generously sized bedrooms (one with its own patio) and a large living room (lounge, in Empire English). We were encouraged by Wendy to treat the Landing Cottage as a home away from home. With the inviting, tasteful décor and beautiful, natural surroundings, this was so easy to do that we didn’t want to leave.

Breakfast with Tony and Wendy each morning was brilliant. As we awaited Wendy’s blueberry pancakes, we were treated to Tony’s paintings. The advice on what to do and see in the KeriKeri and Russell regions was spot on.

If you are headed to Wellington make sure to let your hosts know. Before buying the property and opening a best of class B & B, they lived and worked in New Zealand’s capital. Their suggestions about what to see and where to eat there made it much easier, even if you have been there before.

The arrangements Wendy made for dinner out and a trip to the Bay of Islands made our trip just that much more enjoyable. All of their guests benefit from this brilliant couple’s local knowledge and love of New Zealand.

Suffice it to say, we will return to the Landing Cottage on our next trip, which we want to be soon. We will be staying with friends.

Brian and Gretchen

PS We understand that an addition is planned, which will allow the Waldegrave’s to host a few more guests and more easily accommodate unrelated parties.

  • Liked — Our hosts, with the quality of furnishings and the breakfasts close seconds.
  • Disliked — Nothing, except the government mandated water restrictions on bathes
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank groupsnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2008

Tony and Wendy treated us like friends rather than clients.
Wendy's attention to detail is perfect and she made excellent recommendations to ensure that we made the most of our stay in the area. The accommodation is immaculate, spacious and tastefully decorated - and the bed is to "die for". The only downside to the stay was the weather - and they would have changed that if they could. Kerikeri is an excellent base from which to explore the Bay of Islands.

  • Liked — Comfort and Friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2008

Our stay at Landing Cottage was splendid in every way and we are hopeful of making a return visit there in the future.
Even before we had arrived, our hosts had made sure that everything would run as smoothly as possible for us... with great directions and the promise of a warm welcome.
We enjoyed the spacious accommodation and enjoyed having the opportunity to interact with our delightful hosts as we tucked in to a delicious breakfast.
From beginning to end our hosts made it clear that nothing was too much trouble and that included chauffeuring us to a wedding we were attending and finding us other accommodation when we had to move on.
I would have no hesitation recommending this B&B to anyone especially those from overseas who would have the opportunity to see true Kiwi hospitality in action.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — It was a bit of a way from restaurants etc
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quilta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

Having travelled around New Zealand and staying in some 13 properties, Landing cotage gets my vote for the best of the lot.

The accomodation forms part of the owners' large and modern detatched home, set in lovely gardens in a very quiet spot just outside Kerikeri. There are 3 double bedrooms and a large lounge area. The bathroom has two sinks and a great shower and a bath.

The beds are very comfortable with nice squidgy pillows. I slept like a log. Decor is crisp, new, and of a very high quality.

The hosts were fantastic. It felt like staying woth close friends, rather than landlady and landlord.

Wendy did us some marvelous breakfasts - by far the best we had in New Zealand. Everything home made, and even with fresh fruit picked from the garden that morning. I tried all the options, including bacon and eggs, the blueberry pancakes, and my favourite "Wendy's waffles".

I would highly recommend staying here for anyone wanting a base to explore the Bay of Islands.

  • Liked — Hosts, quality of furnishing, size, breakfasts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gazzeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
1.7 mi away
Swallows Ridge
Swallows Ridge
#2 of 26 in Kerikeri
259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stone Store Lodge Accommodation
3.6 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
3.8 mi away
Relax a Lodge
Relax a Lodge
#11 of 28 in Kerikeri
70 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landing Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landing Cottage

Property: Landing Cottage
Address: 184 Landing Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Landing Cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landing Cottage is situated in an acre of beautiful gardens. Guests have their own lounge, patio and separate entrance. Perfectly situated for exploring the beautiful Bay of Islands, including the world-renowned Kauri Cliffs golf course. We have 3 spacious bedrooms and can take up to 6 people, linen and furnishings are of the highest standard. Perfectly suited for couples, groups or families, we are committed to making your stay at Landing Cottage a highlight of your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Landing Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing