We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Opua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Point Veronica Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Opua B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The perfect base for a stay in the Bay of Islands area - John and Audrey are wonderful, friendly, informative hosts and the location, accommodation and food are excellent.
If (hopefully when!) we are again able to visit this area, this would certainly be our first choice of where to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnT28103197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We selected this b&b from their web site and the reality was even more stunning.Whilst there are a few surrounding properties you hardly notice them and it was quiet and peaceful at all times. The location was very handy to Paihia for shops and restaurants,the Waitangi Treaty Grounds, and just a short ferry crossing to Russell. Audrey and John were excellent hosts and attented to every need. They attend to all dietary needs, and Audrey baked a special cake for our arrival, and even supplied us with the recipe ! There was a hot tub that guests could use, but unfortunately we did not have the time to use it on our short stay. The bedroom was very comfortable and the breakfeast were excellent. This is certainly a place we will visit again if we are fortunate enough to visit New Zealand another time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

John Audrey are the most gracious and accommodating couple we have found. Breakfasts are everything you can imagine from hot foods to fruits, cereals, home made jams and yoghurts. Their local knowledge of places to visit are spot on and they are also very interesting to get to know. Room was very comfortable and clean always. Loved the spa with a view over the bay. Would definitely recommend a stay here and we will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rsimpson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

First rate B&B, thoroughly lives up to the other comments posted on here.
We booked after reading the Trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Breakfast made to order, really good quality food.
Views from this lovely quiet B&B were outstanding, this was our first real night in NZ after leaving the Airport Motel used for our arrival night, to walk through the house and be confronted by the view out over the Bay Of Islands was breath taking.
Excellent hosts who really know how to make you feel at home and relaxed.
Evenings finished off with a glass or two of wine and a chance to get to know your hosts or the fellow guests.
One large table for breakfast makes for a friendly jovial start to the day.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeNorthumberlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronicalodge, Owner at Point Veronica Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South America
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Audrey and John are the most relaxed, caring and generous hosts you can possibly imagine! Not only is their wonderful house with most lovely garden situated right above bay of islands with magnificent views but also do Audrey and John provide you with everything and every advice you might need. Quite differently from the South Island here on the North Island B&B hosts in general are more caring, but these two are over the top in a very relaxed manner. We felt truly at home asking our one million questions to John over a couple of free glasses of wine or enjoying their marvellous, tailormade breakfast. Thanks again, we hope to be back!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifevoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We arrived at Point Veronica to be met by a surprised Audrey and John!!! Our arrival was one day early! But we still received a warm welcome. The views from Point Veronica are amazing, looking out over the Bay of Islands and Russell. John and Audrey have a wonderful knowledge of the area they live in and are only happy to share this with their guests and pointed us in the right direction of the best things to see and do. The walk from the bottom of John and Audrey's garden into Pahia is a lovely, through the mangroves and around the headland. We would recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting New Zealand Many Thanks Again

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireJHadfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Jacuzi with a view. A quiet spot away from the bustle of Opua, with a cracking view. First class breakfast, all mod cons.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heraldic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opua
1.1 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 20 in Paihia
224 reviews
1.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sanctuary @ Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Boathouse
The Boathouse
#3 of 5 in Opua
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Opua Motel
Opua Motel
#1 of 1 in Opua
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cliff Edge by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Veronica Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Veronica Lodge

Property: Point Veronica Lodge
Address: 39 Point Veronica Drive | OPUA, Opua 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Opua
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Opua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Point Veronica Lodge Bay Of Islands, New Zealand - Opua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing