We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cliff Edge by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Breath taking views, nice room and lounge. The best part is the nice dining and wine experience with Peter as an experienced host. I was happy to also find nice people to chat with during two pleasant dinners sharing touristic experiences in NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ugogio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Beautiful accommodation, wonderful view and an excellent nights sleep. Our host, Peter, was very generous and an excellent chef. Loved the shared table for breakfast, guests from all over the world make for a great start to the day. Peter went out of his way to make us feel very relaxed and comfortable. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcritic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My main concerns about a room are the views and is there a balcony--so we LOVED this place. The view from our room with its wrap balcony and 180 degree vista was magnificent: overlooking the beautiful turquoise sea with sailboats in harbors, lights sparkling from the distant ferry at night, and surrounded by NZ bush as well as some cultivated garden, and populated by exotic birds. Our room was not large but seemed so because of the floor to ceiling windows and balconies. Furnishings were contemporary and comfortable. Bath was nicely contemporary tiled--with its own separate view.

The main lounges a floor above were very spacious and well appointed and nicely contemporary and comfortable. And the view became even wider! Peter, our host, is a wonderful chef and cooked us meals each of our nights there. Really, they were more of a dining experience: smoked salmon, fish, etc, with sides, and beautiful desserts. I've never liked panna cotta before--but his was delicious and beautifully presented. And wine! Breakfast were equally delicious, with fresh squeezed OJ. Peter has a very dry sense of humor, which we loved. My husband loved sparring with him. He was a fabulous host, recommending lunch restaurants, a hiking path to Opua, and driving instructions. HIs meals were some of the finest of our 4 weeks in NZ. We could only stay 3 nights because of other reservations and were sad when we had to leave. If/when we return to NZ, this will definitely be on the agenda.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MALEGARDNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for two nights in the Waitangi Room which was just bliss. The views from our room and the guest lounge were just amazing!!

Breakfast was included which was delicious-fresh fruits, gourmet yogurts, muesli, breads, croissants, eggs etc. Our host Peter was fantastic. We had a 3 course dinner which was cooked by the man himself and it was exquisite! He also kept everyone's wine glasses constantly topped up (this was all included in the dinner price).

Paihia is a 5 minute drive and Russell just across the bay. We had a perfect holiday and have just booked my parents in for their wedding anniversary.

Highly recommended. Thanks again Peter!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Cliff Edge by the sea as a break away for the last few days of our holiday. We knew it was a Guest Lodge setup and that socializing with other guests was part of the experience.

First impressions were great, we were greeted with a warm welcome from Peter and shown to our room. Peter was able to accommodate us into the Kowhai room which wasn't on the Grab One special, this was the only room available at this busy time which we knew. The views weren't quite as good as the other rooms but still very nice sea and bush views.

On the first night Peter cooked us an excellent 5 star gourmet dinner including, starter, main and dessert and all the wine you could drink. The meal is much better than any meal you'd find in Paihia itself. This was included in the Grab One special which made it a very good deal.

If there is any criticism to give and there isn't really, I'd say for normal tariff price of around $400 per night the rooms should have AC standard as it's really hot at night and the ceiling fan is noisy. We didn't have mosquito plug ins in our room like the room manual suggested but I believe these are available on request and a hair dryer and small fridge would be handy as after all other 5 star places would have these amenities.

With regards to the other negative comments around the communal environment, this is typical in my opinion of guest lodges. We met some interesting people and shared a most enjoyable evening with them. If you've never experienced anything other than standard hotel experience I'd give it a go if you're a social person and not a recluse.

Would we stay again? Yes absolutely and thank you again Peter for your kind hospitality!

Kind regards

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wogniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our family of 4 (children ages 18 and 22) stayed at Cliff Edge by the Sea for three nights in late December--we drove straight there after flying Denver-LA-Aukland. We had 2 beautiful rooms with outrageous views and each dinner (we ate there every night) was a masterpiece. Smoked salmon served warm right out of the smoker, a deep sea fish pan fried and roasted, chicken stuffed with herbs, veggies and a dark sauce, fresh oysters, home made desserts--3 courses paired with nice wines. Our host, Peter, is a real character--clever, quick witted and blunt-he enjoys a bit of verbal ping pong if you do. So he won't give you a neck rub--he will serve great meals and send you to waterfalls, kauri trees, uncrowded beaches and share the beauty of this region. Cliff Edge gets our unqualified 5 star rating

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wahlbergsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had two nights here for our honeymoon. Peter couldn't have made us feel more at home and welcome. Our room was lovely - big comfy bed, walk-in shower and a really nice balcony with views overlooking Russell.

Peter cooked us a truly delicious 3 course meal on our first evening, which was accompanied by fantastic wines.I highly recommend eating in when you stay here! Breakfast was equally as good, local cheeses, hams etc.

We really did feel sad to leave those amazing views. What a special place and a kind, welcoming host. Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimJams78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opua
2.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
3.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Sanctuary @ Bay of Islands
3.9 mi away
Eagles Nest
Eagles Nest
#2 of 13 in Russell
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Edge by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Edge by the Sea

Address: Richardson Road West | [ off English Bay Rd ], Opua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Opua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Opua
Price Range: £130 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliff Edge by the Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Edge, by the Sea provides a unique accommodation experience in NZs stunning Bay of Islands, combining the warmth and comfort of a private residence with the sophistication of a boutique hotel.The Lodge has 3 guest bedrooms and a one bedroom studio apartment.The bedrooms [approx. 4X4 mtrs]are tastefully appointed, decorated in warm neutral colors,luxurious carpets, floor to ceiling windows and silk block out silk curtains.All rooms have their own suite bathrooms with walk in showers. In addition the Waitangi room has a large jacuzzi Breakfast is included in the tariff, dinners are a relaxed 3-4 course affairs catering only for in house guests. they are optional but highly recommended.Your host Peter Meier is an accomplished chef, who in his restaurant days "Casuarina Restaurant & Country Inn" in Australias Hunter Valley wine country won many culinary awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cliff Edge by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Edge By The Sea Bay Of Islands, New Zealand - Opua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing