We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cliff Edge by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
Opua Motel(Opua)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
77
11
1
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
11
1
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerother guestsnew zealandstunning viewsexcellent chefgreat foodcourse mealculinary delightsicing on the cakeliving roommade us feellovely breakfastglass of winebeautiful areacharliewinessense
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is the third time I have stayed at Cliff Edge and each time it gets better.
The bedrooms, lounges and terraces have the best viewing areas overlooking the Bay of Islands.
Peter the owner still is the best chef in New Zealand in my opinion. Fresh foods and fish, ample servings and superb presentations with excellent wines. Dinner is a must for any guest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricMcFerran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We arrived late afternoon after a somewhat stressful drive from Auckland (first time driving on the left in 30 years) to be suddenly and thoroughly de-stressed by the fantastic views overlooking the bay and a glass of lovely New Zealand wine. The views are spectacular, our room was large and comfortable with a large balcony, and we had lovely conversations at meals with other international guests. The three-course dinner Peter made for us on our last night was the best meal we had in our seven weeks in NZ and Australia! (Our running joke during the trip was, "Where is Peter tonight to make us dinner?"). Make sure that you have at least one dinner cooked by master chef Peter. We found Peter to be a very gracious and accommodating host--when we had trouble finding a restaurant on a Monday night, he prepared us an impromptu and more simple dinner that was also very good. The nearby ferry also makes it easy to get to Russell without the hassle of going to Paihea.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wymanz2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Not only are the views from the very expansive balconies close to the best ever but the accommodation is first class with a large king size bed that is just so comfortable that a great nights sleep is ensured....large bathroom with huge shower and good pressure plus spotlessly clean...windows surround the room for a 180 degree view of the enchanting and spectacular Bay of Islands...the views are the icing on the cake and there is none better anywhere and we have travelled extensively all over the world...Peter is a great host and breakfast is simple but delicious with fruit,yoghurt,meat and cooked eggs to your liking...in addition Peter offers you wine,tea and coffee, cheese and fresh fruit at anytime plus you have the use of a communal fridge and a laundry....Cliff Edge isn't cheap but great value...This is our 4th year in a row with Peter and we are already looking forward to another return visit next year...that in itself is the best recommendation....do yourself a favour if coming to the Bay of Islands only stay at Cliff Edge...you won't be sorry !

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aussiehikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMeierOpua, Owner at Cliff Edge by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2014

DEar Aussie Hikers, my sincerest apologies for the more then belated reply, no excuse other then being totally hopeless!
And thank you very much your very kind words
It is very much appreciated,
please come back - it is only a 3 hour flight and an enjoyable 3 hour drive from Auckland to the beautiful Bay of Islands
All the best
and until we meet again
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Breath taking views, nice room and lounge. The best part is the nice dining and wine experience with Peter as an experienced host. I was happy to also find nice people to chat with during two pleasant dinners sharing touristic experiences in NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ugogio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Beautiful accommodation, wonderful view and an excellent nights sleep. Our host, Peter, was very generous and an excellent chef. Loved the shared table for breakfast, guests from all over the world make for a great start to the day. Peter went out of his way to make us feel very relaxed and comfortable. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcritic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews