We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot but mind the coach parties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
IPSWICH
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely spot but mind the coach parties”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

This hotel has a several of two storey wings, leading to further wings, which means that some rooms are quite a distance from the main building. Some, if not all, the upper floors can be accessed using a lift. The room we were allocated was at the end of a longish walk but was very quiet with the Treaty Grounds very close and nice views over the Bay towards Russell. There was a table and chairs we enjoyed sitting outside and winding down with a cup of tea soaking the sunshine and the views. The room was clean and comfortable but as noted elsewhere the lighting was extremely poor and any idea of working at the desk in the evening was out of the question. The nights were warm and the ceiling fan stirred the hot air around - there is no airconditioning in the room or another room we used on a previous visit. The Bay of Islands can get quite hot and very humid.

Parking is a problem but we managed to find a spot reasonably close to where we headed off down to our room. This is a hotel that caters for a large number of coach parties. Breakfast in particular can be very busy with the staff unable to keep up with the demand, particularly replenishing the self-service areas. We missed having a pot of tea and I do not enjoy having to leave the table several times to replenish our cups; why do so many Millenium & Copthorne hotels fail fo offer pots of tea. (In the Holiday Inn in Brisbane you can make yourself a pot of tea which saves on staff time.)

The a la carte dinner that we had (instead of the buffet which did not appeal to us) was rather below par and my beef was particularly tough but the soup was excellent.

Except for one staff member who stone walled a request, the others were first rate.

This hotel is well away from the crowds of Pahia which is easily accessible. Pahia has some interesting shops and is the jumping off point for Russell which is well worth visiting. If you are touring with a car this hotel is a very good base.

As with several New Zealand hotels the internet rates are penal but the 20 minutes of (every 24 hours) free wifi in the lobby helps one keep in touch.

Room Tip: Rooms facing and with a view of the Bay of Islands are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank admiral44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    369
    258
    115
    70
See reviews for
192
521
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Set just north of Paihia, the Copthorne is a reasonable walk from town is a short ride on the convenient hourly shuttle. The only downside of the setting is that you have to travel to eat anywhere other than the bar or hotel restaurant. The bar food was good but the menu limited, and the breakfast and dinner prices were to high for my liking. Every staff member that I spoke to was very friendly, positive, and helpful. They were well chosen and well trained.

My ground floor room had a great view of the ocean, an awesome place to read and relax in the morning and evening. TV channels were limited and the internet access too pricey for my liking (in a digital age, wifi needs to be included in the cost as is TV). The room was clean, comfortable and included a nice wicker covered table and 2 chairs in the ocean view sitting room.

Overall I had a gret experience at the Copthorne and would gladly stay here again on a return trip

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

For the price we paid we were stuck in the furthermost corner of the complex, another guest paid half of what we did then got upgraded. Shabby old style TV with 2 sky channels and 5 free to air channels of poor reception. Fan only worked on 1 of the 4 settings which was full on, not the best when trying to sleep!
No Mini bar, shower over bath and no air conditioning.
Asked for a late checkout as was in conference till 12 30 but was told 'we are full tonight sorry' but looked at wotif and there were rooms still available!
Could do with modernisation.
Pools were nice.
One of the best locations in New Zealand

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Oh boy was this place a disappointment! A travel agent recommended it for a Bay of Islands vacation and the website made it look good enough. But it was old, crusty and not well maintained. The bathroom fixtures were full of mineral crust, cracks and mold on the shower curtain, the doors had water damage and the windows were very drafty and had peeling paint. The bed and linens were not good quality.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere! Maybe good for budget business trips, but not nice for vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyndym_cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waitangi hotels

Landsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights and loved this hotel. We were instanly attracted to the pool area and especially the spa. Superb. Our room had a water view looking over a huge grassed area and the harbour and over the bay to the town of Russell. We were treated to a view of a cruise ship anchored in the harbour. The room had a small conservatory to keep warm while enjoyng the view, it was clean and well presented. The food was excellent and the staff were a pleasure to deal with. The Hotel adjoins the Waitangi Treaty House, a must see to learn the history of early New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed two nights and had a great stay!

Clean room, very responsive staff and perfect location! Hotel is about a half mile from the action along the bay. As a result it is away from the crowds but a short walk or free shuttle ride from the heart of Pahia. As a result it has its own beach and prisitine view of the bay and the islands.

The only issues we noted was the tour bus crowd was significant so you need to avoid eating breakfast when they do, and the lighting in our room could have been better. With only one night light on one side of the bed. Otherwise a great spot at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room with a sea view and on first floor and you can walk right out to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

The wing were were in had a suspended wooden hallway that was noisy when other guests walked along it. The bed was two singles pushed together. The automatic door closing mechanism slammed the doors such at it woke us up. Soundproofing between rooms is non-existent. Very small bathroom. Did not read our special request prior to our stay so were not able to accommodate it even though we booked approx 4 weeks in advance.


****** NOT WORTH ANYTHING ABOVE $100/night! ********

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing