We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great outdoor spa, great view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great outdoor spa, great view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed twice in April once on the ground floor and once upstairs (there is a lift). It was more private on your balcony upstairs and the view is better but you had to walk the corridors and lift to get to the pool. We prefered downstairs for this reason - and we got to chat to the neighbours. The room was average, the bed was large and comfy, with small fridge/mini bar and complimentary tea & coffee. The TV was the old box type and the balcony table had seen better days. I think the dinner buffet was overpriced for what there was - you expect seafood for that price - we muched prefered to take the courtesy bus to the waterfront and grab a taxi home. Room service was great tho it came short one set of cutlery, however housekeeping very quickly supplied a set. Breakfast was busy but was buffet and they coped well with the 60 odd diners. It was served hot with plenty of choice. Loved the eggs! Staff were great, happy and helpful, particularly housekeeping and front of house. Yes, dated in parts but overall good value. And the best outdoor spa ever.

Room Tip: Get a room well away from the pool if that noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    368
    257
    115
    70
See reviews for
192
519
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We had been before to this hotel about 5 years previously and found it a little tired then. This time it was positively worn out. We had booked a corner suite and it had a superb view and good little balcony. The furniture was very uncomfortable, no better than garden furniture, a ceiling fan that looked old and dirty, a bathroom that needed refurbishing - yellowing tiles and an old shower. To make matters worse the dining room was being refurbished (something they didn't tell us about when booking) - no apology for this nor reduction in room rate. We just had to eat in the back dining room with no view and the bar was not in service either!

The location is just perfect but the hotel management/owners seem to think they can get away with just this. We felt really let down.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We booked for 2 nights for a great internet rate, knowing that this rate would give us a basic room. The room was exactly what we expected and suited our stay as we weren't spending alot of time in it. However the cleaniness of the room was average, hairs in the bathroom and a ceiling fan that hadn't been dusted for a while. Also booking an hour before arriving and then been told our booking hadn't been loaded yet, half an hour after actual check in time. So whilst the reservation team loaded our booking we paid for a drink in the bar. Our stay was exactly what you would expect, nothing more.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have access to the internet. Great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeffnDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

A lovely location with good facilities and decent sized rooms. However we stayed for 3 nights and I didn't see a member of staff with a vacuum cleaner the whole time! There were too many cobwebs in the room for my liking. Food was good but expensive. The pool also appeared to need a thorough clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizs0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just spent a night here. We stayed in a room with a view across the lawn and straight onto the Bay, couldn't have asked for a more beautiful spot. The room was a good size, with a kingsize bed , adequate bathroom, all very clean.Best of all, a little sunporch to sit and read in, have a glass of wine, watch the seagulls and the boats. We had a discount rate, paid $126 for the night. Had breakfast in the hotel, adequate standard fare. Enjoyed a drink in the cosy bar, friendly barman. When we arrived the man on the front desk was very friendly, but I was a little surprised when we left that the lady on the counter didn't enquire as to our stay and how we'd found the hotel. Although it is a little out of Paihia, we liked the quiet location and with a car it wasn't a concern. All in all, I thought it was a real treat.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
455 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I booked this hotel via the Wotif mystery deal to find it was actually in Waitangi and not Paihia as described. The hotel is located 2 km out of Paihia so too far to walk if you want to do a boat trip, shop or eat in a different restaurant. Parking in Paihia is restricted so you cannot leave your car there all day while you are out on a boat in the Bay of Islands. The hotel itself is a bit old and run down. Our room faced the tennis court and yard and even mowing the lawn would have made a huge difference. When I checked in the receptionist charged $100 to my credit card for incidentals so when they refunded it as I left (I did not use the mini bar), I had to pay the foreign currency conversion fee, which I do not think is fair. What I will not complain about is the price we paid for the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waitangi hotels

Whangarei
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our family had a fantastic stay in the recently upgraded family suite. Highly recommend these adjoining rooms with living area and best view in the hotel. The pool area was so much fun for the kids and all the staff werre friendly and helpful. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and that your children enjoyed the spa & pool facilites. Hope to see you again soon :) Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing