We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MTA Conference in the Wonderful Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Wow what a great four days we had at the Copthorne Hotel. From the moment we stepped through the door, the staff at the front desk were absolutely wonderful, friendly, informative. Absolutely made us welcome. Our room was just across and up a level. Not far to go.
We had a wonderful buffet dinner.

The food was fantastic, the service was fast, the views were out of this world, we were lucky the tall ships had arrived in the Bay of Islands for the weekend, so the waka's were amazing to watch.

It is a wonderful place to just relax and enjoy a few days away from the hustle and bustle. Well Worth staying. I am definitely going back for a holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the East are so lovely, facing out towards the Treaty Grounds are so sunny in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Although the staff were friendly, they were not speedy and the venue really lets down any good service that there was. Absolutely stunning location, but rooms are like you've stepped back into the 80s' - desperately in need of a refurb. Just about everything needs replacing. We stayed on the back of the Seaspray wing, no sun, dark and old. Maybe the front side and other rooms are better? Long corridor is great for amplifying sound of every patron that stumbles back to their room late at night!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojozaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just back from a great break at the Copthorne hotel in Paihia. The situation of the hotel is excellent and the rooms and food were to a very good standard. I am sure we will be back to stay again to enjoy the hotel and all of the watersports on the doorstep. The Waitangi treaty ground being just a short walk away added to the location.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are worth the extra..... The views towards Russel are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

On our two week trip to New Zealand my husband and I (thankfully) only had two days of horrible weather and unfortunately it was while we were in the Bay of Islands.. because of thw inclimate weather we were not able to do any of the touristy things in the area.. We were able to sneak into thw pool and spa area which was a lot of fun! The front desk personnel were very helpful in directing us to restaurants in the area and also helped when our flight to Fiji was cancelled. I would visit again :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frombostonwithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Enjoyed a two night stay at the Copthorne and didn't really want to come home! The package deal bookings were a breeze and when we requested a room closer to the restaurant owing to recent knee surgery we were allocated a complimentary upgrade. The room was very clean and tidy and the bed was H-U-G-E and very comfortable. We noticed that the TV had been upgraded from a previous visit and there was a great choice of sky channels and complimentary newspaper.

The buffet breakfast was excellent as always and a great selection of foods would satisfy every diet. Our fish dinner on the 2nd night was a good choice (the pork belly had a flavour that wasn't my personal choice) and although the restaurant was fairly quiet on both nights, the atmosphere was pleasant.

The most rewarding aspect of our stay was the attention at all times by the very friendly staff. Even the young folk who were in training had a smile and a friendly greeting at every stage of the day. It was nice to see many children on school holidays having a great time in the pool and the noise level was acceptable as they didn't stay too late. All in all a great holiday venue and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Great view of the Bay from rooms on the eastern side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

All one would expect and lovely staff in all our interactions. We had a relaxing time and really enjoyed the time spent in the sun on the deck at the front of our room. Spa pool was great and the pool itself was well presented as a lagoon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had two nights at the Copthorne taking advantage of a good package deal that included breakfast. Located right next to the treaty grounds it is in a great relaxing/quiet area about 5 minutes drive from Paihia itself.

The kids enjoyed the swimming pool area and the heated spa was fantastic.

The buffet breakfast had a good selection of the usual things you'd expect. We were hoping to sample a buffet dinner but unfortunately for us, due to low guest numbers when we were there, the buffet was off the menu.

The rooms were clean and functional. Ours was on the ground floor close to the tennis courts which weren't in use too much thank fully.

Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artois007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150, Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range: £65 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing