We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Conferences!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Katikati, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid the Conferences!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Arrived just as Conference delegates were checking in. Advert for prostate cancer drug at reception; unattractive. Food was awful - gristle in chicken Ballantine. Charges for internet use were outrageous, who charges for electricity and heating these days!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    385
    267
    120
    70
See reviews for
200
537
32
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North of Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Being so close to the major tourist attraction of the Treaty Grounds, I was expecting the whole experience to be second rate with third rate service, but not so. This place is set in a beautiful location, the downside of which is that its a 20 min walk into Paihia. The staff were very friendly & helpful, the bedroom was large, clean & comfortable (my only gripe would be that a lack of a net curtain meant that folks could look straight into my bedroom from outside & I could look into theirs too; if I want to lounge on the bed in my undies during the day, I don't want to have to draw the big curtains :-). I think the colour scheme of the place could do with a rethink, there's an awful lot of mustard/beige coloured paintwork both in the interior & exterior of the building. Only ate breakfast here which was the usual hot/cold buffet fare, plenty of it & regularly re-stocked.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, I looked onto the tennis courts :-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YnotNorthofAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I had a superior room at this resort and stayed for a conference. The food was very good. The service was quick and friendly. My room had an amazing view over the pool complex to the sea. The room was a good size, but the bathroom was a bit dated and small.
A great venue for a conference. My only complaint was that the spa pool was very cold and not really usable for that reason.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, stunning views, happy helpful staff but.....the rooms are old, marks on the carpet bad paint jobs and the noise from the corridor into the room is the worst ever there is no sound proofing, anyone walking past it is like they are in your room. The rooms are really small and bland and dull. The flan on the ceiling was filthy - this place could be a piece of heaven where it is situated but it isn't and it has a long way to go.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MissFloopy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waitangi hotels

brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 days and was booked by our travel agent. Hotel is old and needs renovation. We were told that Internet was free for our stay for a whole 20 minutes! the view of the ocean was the only thing that was lovely in our room, the rest of our room was very average. Bed was so bad I could hardly sleep. The pillows were the worst I have ever slept on and got a sore neck from it. Bathrooms were old,dated and yuck!

When walking around the hotel everything is so dated. We then looked around town and there are so many nicer looking hotels that we were so disappointed with the copthorne! I really believe that this hotel needs to take a good look around as what other hotels offer - free wi fi ( which is important to many travellers).

I will be telling my travel agent how disappointed we were with their choice and we would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenant143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Everything was just right: fantastic location right on the water and a short walk over the bridge into Paihia. Very friendly staff and great food, only the service at the restaurant was a bit slow if ordering off the menu. Buffet breakfast excellent and overall very good value. Would definitely come back again and 3 days was not long enough - could easily spend a week there. Good mix of family and couples and lots to do at the resort (tennis court, pool & spa, bikes for hire, sea kayak hire just down the road) and a 10min walk from the treaty grounds .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay here, stunning views across the water & a tasty & generous breakfast delivered to our room each morning. Our room was clean, tidy and the staff were helpful. The restaurant onsite was pretty average, but there are some lovely local restaurants in town. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.7 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing