We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really Disapointed”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have been coming to this hotel for years and have always had a great time. Alas not this year, we booked really early for our family of four. We arrived and were promised the room would be available in thirty minutes. Two hours later we finally get to the room to find it only sleeps three. Woman at the front desk just kept telling me they didn't have a roll away. At least the manager found a rollaway, but we are now stuck in a small crappy room.
Feel very let down and not even an apology when the front desk manager states it was their problem. WE WONT BE BACK, which is a shame as we have had many happy holidays here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanHassell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    375
    263
    119
    70
See reviews for
193
530
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This is a large hotel/conference centre, modern and well kept.
The rooms are large and well appointed, probably 3+ star quality.
All the staff are very helpful and friendly.
Its right on the beach but also has a nice large outdoor pool and heated outdoor spa. Both good.
Free very limited daily wifi, way short on allowance but adequate for a quick catch up.
Free shuttle into town which is very close.
The bad side is that we found a shard of broken glass on the floor right next to the toe nail! The hotel were very apologetic but still not acceptable.
Would stay here again but make sure you get a sea view room as the views are wonderful! These are facing East which is good as there is no A/C. Stay away from the West facing rooms in summer as I'm sure they will get very hot.
Paul

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Buster953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We have just arrived home after two nights away. Awesome location and bay view from our room. Room concurs with all other reviews however it was reprieved a bit as we had this great ceiling fan which was excellent. Ate out locally as restaurant was too pricey for seniors! All staff were obliging but the hotel really does need a wee bit more TLC.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reddrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We were staying in BOI for a weekend whilst we completed the Kerikeri 1/2 marathon. Tye Copthorne is a lovely resort, and the pools are fantastic to revive in after a gruelling run/walk! Best of all the restaurant is open early, so you can get breakfast when you have a quick get away needed.

Room Tip: Can't beat a seaview room on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This motel is situated on seaside at the Bay of Islands. The area is an important area for the Maori nation, with the Meeting House and location of signing the treaty within 200m. The Maori locals are very welcoming and a number work very efficiently at the hotel. The location could not be better. However the motel itself is a little dated and tired. The rooms need updating. Our room was facing the garden ,if a garden at all. The patio itself needs tidying up. The food was very average, with plenty of choice for breakfast. However dinner was not up to our expectations in quality nor quantity.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waitangi hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here for a few days during a month-long trip in NZ. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at during our trip and was expecting something fairly snazzy but unfortunately the place is a bit tired and run-down.

The "superior" room we had was clean but no better than a motel - basically a bed (albeit huge), cheap looking chipboard furniture, TV, safe, and an totally standard bathroom complete with mouldy silicon sealant and a lime-scale encrusted shower head. The pool was outside had a nice outlook but was unheated and dirty with various things floating around in it. The restaurant looked fairly dull so we didn't even try it.

Pretty disappointing compared to some of the cheaper places we stayed at in NZ.

One morning at about 9am there was a Maori sailing lesson - lots of shouting etc - being conducted right outside our room's window which woke us up. Not sure if this is a regular occurrence but its pretty stupid place and time to hold it.

Staff however were excellent and very helpful - full marks there. Also great if you are planing on visiting the Waitangi Treaty grounds as it is literally next door to it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Old, shabby and really slow service in the dining room. Staff pleasant enough but some serious chivvying up required in the dining room.

Grounds really pleasant, parking could be a problem in the height of summer, good transport into town with Selwyn who is great.

The pool area looked like a pond in a back garden with a pond liner rather than tiles, so much so that the only takers were the seagulls having a wash & brush up!!

Not the best I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Give this one a miss, plenty of other places if you book early enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing