We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great people, needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Wilmington NC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place, great people, needs updating”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

What a well-built, well-designed resort in one of the world's most beautiful areas! We were there for 4 days, & would have loved to have stayed a few days longer. In addition to many things to do in the area, & enjoyable little shops in town (Paihia), the resort itself is on a heavenly, peaceful stretch of beach, with a nice swimming area, hot tub, massage spa, etc. There's regular hotel shuttle service for the 10 min. drive into Paihia. We saw so many people only staying a night or two, and regretfully having to leave to continue their planned itinerary. We urge you to schedule a longer stay. You'll thoroughly enjoy it.

The staff couldn't have been nicer, or more helpful and accommodating. The cleaning crew is thorough. Food in the restaurant is well-prepared, & tasty. There're two guest laundries on site. There're also tennis courts, and many other things to do while relaxing and enjoying this resort.

Our suggestions for improvement: Again, this is a Millenium property that's in need of lots of fresh paint and new carpet. Also, internet service is not available in the guest rooms, just down in the lobby & you only get 20 minutes a day free. Other "packages" are available, but in this day and age, that's simply not the norm any more. We learned while traveling in NZ that cell phone & wifi services are 3-4X as expensive as in other countries. Still, when you're staying at a resort of this caliber, in-room unlimited wifi should be standard.

Room Tip: Of course request a room with a water view. Also, the rooms that are farther away from the receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmax14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our facilities including the spa, natural rock pool, shuttle service, restaurant and shuttle service. Our staff is also more than happy to help with any tour or massage bookings. Your suggestions for improvement are invaluable in helping us identify areas we can improve on. You will be pleased to hear that we are in the process of re-painting our rooms and conducting some maintenance work. Our internet plans are set for the whole chain but we have been looking at different options in the future. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    375
    263
    119
    70
See reviews for
193
530
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg i. Br.
Level Contributor
227 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Copthorne is basically an alright hotel.
Rooms are nice and meals are not too bad.
Location is beautiful at the bay.
The fly in the ointment comes with the service which is probably caused by hotel chain rules.
The fact that payment by credit card incurs a charge is a shame.
But then telling the customer that this is the same all over NZ is an outright lie.
Not nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thanks for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. We are certainly lucky to be in this unique location right by the waterfront and next to the historical Waitangi Treaty Grounds. The credit card fee is a policy set by the chain and applies in all of our New Zealand hotels. Every attempt is made to ensure this information is highlighed at time of booking. My apologies if some information was miscommunicated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This facility is in a prestigious location and there is no reason why it is not a grand facility.
Service: We found this to be very poor and had asked the front desk manager about a fan for our room so that I can turn off the ceiling fan that was making a lot of noise. During summer it is very warm and keeping the noisy ceiling on all night was not an option. Front desk manager ignored my requests…made my stay very stressful. The restaurant staff seemed uninterested and poor customer service.
Rooms: Very poor condition. We booked 2 rooms and both rooms had the same problems. Bath and sink water was brown and dirty looking. We called the front desk and waited 2 hours before we went to the front desk and was told that Council did some work in the area and we should just run the water for a few minutes to clear it. We asked why we were not informed at check-in?? We ran the water for over an hour before it cleared.
The iron was placed on the floor in the closet, very unsanitary, at least put it on a table. The refrigerator was left open by housekeeping so everything we had in there spoilt. Outside view was a pile of green waste and the tiles were broken and very unsafe. The drains were damaged and very unappealing to look at. (see images)
The facility provided us with a survey; however, we listed all our concerns and not a word from the manager or anyone. We made sure we left our contact information. This tells us that they do not care about the individual traveller because they seemed to prefer large tour groups.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pula2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
I apologise we did not meet your expectations. We are committed to providing the best possible accommodation and service. Thank you for making me aware that we need to improve our service so I can address this with our staff. I have also passed on your comments to our housekeeping and maintenance team and they will tend to the issues immidiately. The concern you had during your stay with the water supply was an isolated incident. Unfortunately we are not always made aware of council work in the area to pre-warn our guests. I am very sorry nobody has contacted you after your stay. Fee free to contact the hotel directly if you would like to make any further suggestions. We'd appreciate any further feedback you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waitangi hotels

Norwich
Level Contributor
155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel's location next to the Bay can't be faulted, but the place itself was a big disappointment. We'd stayed in other hotels in the chain on our trip so kind of knew what to expect, glitzy reception area, bar and restaurant but pretty tired and dour rooms, and certainly not 4 star in our opinion. My biggest issue with this hotel was the wifi access, incredibly expensive and even the 20 minutes free in reception wasn't exactly that, it had a tiny download limit so accessing emails consumed the allowance in a couple of minutes! How come bars, coffee shops, small bed and breakfasts can offer free wifi but a big hotel chain wants to charge small fortune for it? Wouldn't stay in this chain of hotels on a return trip

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noosaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
We appreciate your feedback about your stay. We definitely have one of the best locations in town at the edge of the waterfront. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your room. We are updating the maintenance schedule to keep our rooms fresh. We are also currently looking into different internet options we can offer and your feedback will be incorported into the process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We deliberately chose to stay here again because of the fantastic views and the closeness to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds and local walks. The views and the trip round Waitangi were as good as ever, but the minus points we noted last time (4 years ago) have got worse: the hotel is mainly concerned with processing large coach parties who stay one night and move on, consequently there is little interest in helping individual travellers or in building up a rapport. The shuttle service to Paihia town stops at 5.30 and the driver was very reluctant to take us and our suitcases from the coach stop to the hotel. The main dinner option is a buffet designed to appeal to the coach parties, however, if you ask, there is an excellent a la carte menu and we found a delightful waiter who was only too pleased to serve individual travellers. It is worth staying at this hotel for the reasons mentioned, but be aware that individual travellers will come 2nd to Corporate bookings.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorians63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thanks for your comments. Your feedback is invaluable in helping us providing an outstanding guest experience. My sincere apologies that the service did not meet your expectations. I have addressed your issues with the staff. The resort attracts a range of guests and we aim at making everyone's stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our restaurant offers both a buffet and a A la Carte menu depending on which serves our guests in-house best. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals and hope we can offer your an improved experience if you choose to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel is in a nice location, and has many amenities. Outdoor spa in faux rock pool is nice. Room was good size and in good condition. The tea kettle was a bit grungy and we ask for and received another one. Booking in advance was a good deal compared with other motels, B&Bs, or campgrounds. Sure it was a bit more expensive, but with all the benefits it was well worth it to us. So good for a couple days in the area. If staying longer then a bach would likely be better and more economical.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_fishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thanks for your review. It is great to read we were able to contribute to a satisfactory holiday. Our staff work hard to try and rectify any discrepancies immidiately and I am glad to hear we could solve any issues that arose during your stay. If you choose to stay longer, we offer discounted rates for 3 nights or longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Nice gardens, pool and reception area but the room was very disappointing.

We got a great deal and were looking forward to staying at the resort expecting a four star experience.

The room was really cold with no air conditioning or heating available apart from a blow/fan heater from the 70's attached to the wall which was ridiculously loud. Would hate to think what it would be like in the middle of winter! There was no mini bar or no Sky TV and the decor is in desperate need of an upgrade. Small things, but they are what I would expect at a 4 star resort.

The pool and spa area was nice with a great outlook to the water. The location was a little way from the shops and restaurants in Paihai but loads of parking and right next to the boat ramp. They also run a shuttle to town during certain hours.

Not sure what the superior rooms or the seaview rooms are like, but if I was to stay again I definitely wouldn't want to stay in one the standard rooms!

Room Tip: Don't stay in a standard room they are below average
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa0123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay. It is great to hear you made use of some of our facilities including the natural-rock pool and our complimentary courtesy shuttle.
I am sorry that not all aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction. I believe some of the amenities in the room were not communicated to you correctly and have addressed this with the staff. We do offer minibar items on request. We also have selected Sky Channels. Do not hesitate to contact our reception staff if those are not functioning correctly. We would like to offer you a more satisfactory experience if you choose to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing