We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Nearby Hotels
Bay of Islands Gateway Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Sands Seafront Studios(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bounty Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Austria Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,175)
Filter reviews
1,175 results
Traveller rating
221
425
299
134
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
425
299
134
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstreaty groundsshuttle busbuffet dinnerpool areabeautiful locationa sea view roombit datedtennis courtsthe ground floorbayviewspaihiarabbitsdeckwaterfront
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 1,175 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Overall it is pretty good. But the sound insulation is terrible. We could hear water sound and door bang sounds from next door. It was quite loud too.: ( breakfast buffet is ok. But not as good as I expected. But the room is OK. Location is convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisalyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for your feedback! I am pleased to read you had a satisfactory stay. Your feedback is important for us to deliver the best possible experience. Your comments have been taken on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The advantages of coming here in winter are numerous;
1. The outdoor spa pool (in the beautifully landscaped pool area) is a perfect temperature and not crowded.
2. You can get a real bargain on room rates. (I would recommend going for the sea view rooms, the fabulous view is really worth it)
3. The whole place has a peaceful relaxing feel due to fewer guests
4. You don't have to get up early to see the sun rise across the bay (It rose at 7.23am today and we watched from our room)

The stunning location of this hotel is its main drawcard. However the rooms are well appointed and the buffet dinner at the restaurant was also great. Breakfast was pretty good too. The staff were very friendly. The pool area was very beautiful.
If you are very particular you may notice some paint peeling on the bathroom ceiling but really this is of little consequence.
We had a wonderfully relaxing weekend here celebrating our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22KiwiTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

It is great to hear we could contribute to a great wedding anniversary. The Bay of Islands is definitely a great winter getaway - often praised as the winterless north. You will be pleased to hear we have a maintenance schedule in place to fix up little blemishes in the rooms in order to keep them fresh. Make sure you ask our friendly staff for winter specials on activities around the Bay as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was an excellent stay from the moment I booked in and was given an upgrade. My room was excellent with fab views right over to the waterfront. The pools were great, warm and hot for a refreshing dip. Meals were great and service of the room was excellent.
I can't wait to return to the Copthorne again in the summer time. It will be a good base to explore the area more fully.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for your feedback! I am pleased to hear you had some enjoyable leisure time amongst the busy conference sessions. Our natural rock pool and spa are definitely the best places for relaxation. I will pass on your comments to the chef who has put together the menus based on fresh local produce. We are looking forward to welcome you back over summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Waitangi. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the food was excellent and the staff were absolute superb - those who serviced our rooms, the dining room staff, front of house and on duty management could not do enough. They were warm, friendly helpful and engaging. The hot pool outside was good - could have been a little warmer for the cold spell we are having.
If you are visiting the the Bay of Islands then this is a must stay at place.

Room Tip: A room just across from the pools or one with a view over the Bay of Islands
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmfaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for giving us some feedback of your recent stay! I am pleased to hear our staff contributed to an enjoyable stay. I will pass on your feedback to the team. Our spa amongst the natural rocks is highly desired in the winter months. Make sure you ask for an upgrade to an ocean view room and for a small extra fee you can enjoy the sunrise in the morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Always nice to visit, this time during school holidays when busier than usual with kids having a resort holiday. Always lovely to see Ms Toni fronting breakfast, hope she has a great time at Wet & Wild. Dawn is a special time here, rising at 5 am is no problem when surrounded by such beauty and silence, a 6am stroll up the hill to the top ridge of the golf course to catch the rising sun is almost a spiritual experience so do make the effort which is well worth it. Great value at $130/night for ground superior waterfront room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank peterawiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent stay. We certainly have a little slice of paradise here in the Bay of Islands. Our facilities like the pool and spa always appeal to kids. And the many outdoor activities are great for a family holiday! We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews