We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ashby Inn
Nearby Hotels
Salamander Resort & Spa(Middleburg)
US$541
US$493
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Front Royal Motel(Front Royal)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
US$88
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn Motel(Front Royal)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
110
31
13
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
31
13
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrolling hillshoney buttergorgeous roomport winevirginia countrysidefour poster bedlibrary downstairsnext morningsmall deckextensive wine listvegetable gardenbreakfast choicestop floormodern amenitiescouple of nightsbed was very comfortablefloor room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Our family recently celebrated a wonderful family brunch on the patio at the Ashby Inn. The food was out of this world! Everyone enjoyed their meals, which were unique, fresh, and delicious. The wine selection was enjoyable. And the service was impeccable. We truly appreciated the hospitality and fine meal presented by the Inn. It was a warm, sunny day on the patio and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theworldawaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Having read the many excellent reviews I was not prepared for the reality of our stay. First, the room was wonderful, the view fantastic and the bed comfortable. There was no wifi, and I had some things to check on. I called the front desk but at 4:45 they had left. I left a message. Then I called a second number, the Innkeeper. Again I left a message and no response. We finally had a wonderful dinner down the road at the Wolftone Pub and they let us use their wifi. I never did get a return call. At breakfast the next morning the food was interesting and creative but basically un edible. The fresh squeezed juice was good as was the coffee. But eggs Benedict with some tasteless sauce and slices of sausage that tasted like goat, were left on the plate along with the burned potatoes. My wife had some pancakes that were covered with eggs and couldn't eat them either. Maybe it was going on Monday, but I can't recommend this Inn

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Huron68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Spent 2 nights April 5 and 6 , 2013. Second visit to the Ashby Inn, both times stayed in Adams Room, in the Old School House section, about 50 yards from the main Inn building. Originally planned to hike in on the section of the Appalachian Trail , which crosses Route 50 about 1 mile west of the Inn.

During the month of April , restaurant and kitchen closed for renovations. Offered instead was a breakfast picnic hamper delivered to the room. However, car needed for travel to restaurants for other meals. We really wanted to stay at the Ashby Inn and changed plans; drove instead and did day hikes , using the Inn as a base.

The Breakfast hampers proved to be one of the real highlights of this visit. Muesli, yoghurt, fruit and pastries, provided a most substantial continental breakfast. This was enjoyed in the very comfortable large arm chairs, while sitting around the fire ( Cold spell this April) and enjoying the great view of the surrounding farms and hills of the Sky Meadows State Park. This really enhanced the cozy, comfortable and relaxing ambience.

I am recommending and hoping that the Inn will continue to provide Breakfast hampers as an option, with perhaps a surcharge, once the restaurant renovations are complete.

In our opinion, the 4 suites in the Old School House section are the gems of the Inn. Large rooms with large windows, great view, extremely comfortable bed, good quality bed linens, large comfortable arm chairs around the working fireplace, refrigerator and coffee maker. Large bathroom with bath and shower. Central airconditioning excellent. Quiet, no road noise; very few cars in the tiny village of Paris VA.

Staff, from Innkeepers to housekeepers, all extremely hospitable, friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make one's stay more comfortable.

Overall impression formed both visits: extremely well run establishment.

Room Tip: The 4 rooms in the Old School House Section are large, quiet and each has an excellent view. Large windows on 2 sides of the room. Lot of natural light.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandT_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

It's not called the "Fan Room" because of the ceiling fan. There's a GIANT, industrial restaurant fan on the other side of one wall. So, every morning at 7am, when the staff arrives for breakfast service, it clicks on and literally VIBRATES the entire room. And it doesn't turn off until after dinner service, around 10pm or so. Additionally, the room is situated above the kitchen. Every time a pan is dropped or something is shouted, you hear it. When someone takes out the trash (just below the small balcony) you hear it. And it goes on late. Then it starts up again with the fan in the early morning. Don't get me wrong, the room is beautiful, the view is great, and the food is amazing. But our plans to have a relaxing weekend lounging were foiled by the vibrating walls/floors and the constant noise. I would return to the Ashby, but NEVER to the Fan Room. Honestly, for the cost of a stay here, they should do something. Noise defining sheet rock on the wall with the exhaust fan. Raise the floor and put in some insulation. I know it's an old inn, but seriously.

Room Tip: Not the Fan Room!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starwavra, General Manager at The Ashby Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Dear Ann S,

Thank you for your comments. We at The Ashby Inn take great care in providing our guests with a retreat that permits one to revel in the beauty and tranquility of our surroundings. Many of our guests return time and again to specifically stay in the Fan Room. That said, We are saddened that you had a less than ideal stay in one of our most popular rooms. Your comments absolutely have merit. Not knowing when you were here exactly, if it was in the past few months, you may have noticed that construction is underway. This construction will add insulation between the ceiling of the kitchen and the floor of the Fan Room and locates the exhaust fan away from the wall of the room, anchoring it off of the roof of the new kitchen addition. We hope these changes will address the issues you shared here.

Thank you for taking the time to contribute.

Sincerely,

Star & Neal Wavra
Manager

P.S. The Fan Room derives its name from the fan shaped palladium window that reveals a spectacular view of Sky Meadows State Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Ashby Inn as part of our swing of Virginia winery visits. We stayed in the fireplace room in the main building. The gas fireplace provided great ambience and the room was fine. Food was creative, fresh and worth the visit.

Room Tip: The firplace room is worth booking.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlfraley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews