We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Zombie Like Experience on Valentines Day”
Review of The Ashby Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ashby Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Last Valentine's I wanted to take my girlfriend here, and it was already booked, so I scheduled in advance this year.

Be prepared for an intense experience of flavors, delightful pottery, and pleasant professional staff. The entree was certainly our favorite, I got the Parmesan encrusted loin of lamb and my date got the eye of the eye of the rib-eye. We carnivorously devoured our meats and tried each others. The flavors were intense and rich. The cuts were perfect and cooked perfectly. I felt like I was a sated zombie when I was done. The champagne put us in the mood. Then came time for desert and things took a twist. As I trustingly ordered the blue cheese infused cheese cake, my girlfriend looked at me inquisitively. I was the first evidently to order this, and thus the guinea pig. One bite sent me over the edge, and the waitresses came rushing over once they saw my black and blue cheesecake face. She immediately offered a different desert. We saw two others turn theirs in as well. The bill was steep, but priced appropriately for the fine dining.

On the ride home, my Valentine saw my face again and new I needed to vomit. She pulled over and as we left I looked back at my five star dinner all chunky and discolored in the snow.

Will we be back? Maybe when the dead rise again.

Honestly, the food was incredible and rich, they simply need to do something about that blue cheese cheese cake.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank danceprometheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

We ate dinner this past Saturday night and throughly enjoyed the atmosphere and great food. The prices were reasonable given the quality of the dining experience, and the menu was diverse and refined. The wine list was extensive and included a range of local wines in addition to national and international selections. We plan on returning, and anyone planning a romantic dinner cannot go wrong with the Ashby Inn!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDPoulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This past weekend I spent at The Ashby Inn with two friends. The inn is situated in Virginia horse country and is lovely in many respects. The main house where we stayed has a library for gathering and a very special restaurant. When you stay at the inn, breakfast is included and it is wonderful. My room complete with country antiques and four poster bed was on the top floor. Very quiet with natural light. My only problem is the room was infested with "stink bugs". I was told by management that these bugs are "natural" and next to impossible to get rid of. The first few I killed myself but when I found one in my bed I asked to have the room checked. The staff seemed concerned but more bugs appeared. I'm not sure why my room was not changed since my friends who were in other parts of the inn did not have this problem. What was to be a special reunion weekend was spoiled for me by these bugs and the inn staff's lack of consideration for my well being. If you want to visit this inn be sure to request a room without bugs.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room on the top floor. And be sure to ask for a room with no bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank japple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We recently stayed in The New England room at The Ashby Inn. Upon entering the Inn, Silvie greeted us warmly, efficiently checked us in and brought us to our room. Note that the staircase to the second floor of the Inn, where the New England room is located, has fairly narrow steps, so physically challenged individuals may have difficulty ascending/descending. The room is quaint with a four-poster Queen bed. The bed itself sits high so be careful getting out of it-- may be a bit of a challenge for some at night-- and has an extremely firm mattress. The en-suite bath is fairly small, although adequate, and we needed to place our toiletry cases outside the bathroom due to lack of storage space. We also found that we needed to turn on the hot water faucet and let it run for several minutes before enjoying hot water. The room's old armoire was a throwback to the past and it's bath-towel filled content was most welcomed. We were a bit surprised that we found it difficult to secure the door to the room as it was warped. This may be typical for Inn's of this age. It should, nonetheless, be repaired. Although the room had no television, the Inn did offer WiFi service. This old, historical Inn is charming, situated in a picturesque location--and is a stark contrast to today's luxury hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodie4Certain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

For our anniversary, my husband and I treated ourselves to a night at the Inn and dinner at the restaurant. The Inn is located in a bucolic area of Virginia. The town of Paris is more like a neighborhood in the country, rather than a town since there are few commercial establishments, e.g., no coffee shop. Quiet and beautiful. The Inn is lovely. Our room was in the former attic and had a private bath down the hall. The bed was super comfortable and gets points for having layers of covers rather than a down comforter, which is much too hot for me. There were 2 reading chairs and good reading lights. Plus, there was a sink in the room. The only negative, and one that was important to me, was that during the night the heat seemed to switch into high gear. In response I turned the thermostat down but to no avail; it was difficult to get back to sleep at 2:00 am because of the stifling heat. The restaurant was fine but not spectacular. Expect small portions, which are all right with me. Our main dishes -- tagliatelle with pumpkin sage sauce for me and beef for my husband -- were just average. I tasted none of the sage in my dish and my husband said the beef was a bit tough. I probably wouldn't return to the Ashby Inn because it seemed expensive for the value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlingtontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the Inn to check out their restaurant before their chef (Tarver at the time) changed jobs. We booked a room on the second floor of the school house building. It was large and had a porch overlooking rolling hills. Before dinner, we took a nice walk along the quiet country roads around the Inn. The dinner was great - creative food and fine service. Breakfast the next morning was also quite good. We look forward to seeing how things have changed with their new chef. The room was fine, but there are a couple of design features we did not like. It had some high windows without curtains. You can expect an early wake up from the sun on a summer morning. The room also involved a couple of steps down from the bedroom to the area that had the bathroom. We will try a different room on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were fortunate to stay in the schoolhouse - large room, large bathroom, screened porch overlooking countryside. Our meal was disappointing. We thought portions small especially compared to prices. When I ordered lobster poached in butter ($38) I expected more than one small tail which was lost on my over-sized plate - and this year lobsters have been inexpensive to buy in markets! I was still hungry after eating 2 courses. The chef also has a very heavy hand with salt, ruining fresh chanterelles, and crispy potatoes.
The breakfast choices were much better than we anticipated though beware those over-salted crispy potatoes!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
18.9 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
172 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
875 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,366 reviews
10.7 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 8 in Middleburg
294 reviews
8.9 mi away
L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashby Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashby Inn

Address: 692 Federal St, Paris, VA 20130-1606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range: £130 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ashby Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting at a crossroads of both time and location, The Ashby Inn & Restaurant exists as a tenant to history while offering a place for guests to dine and rest amidst the beauty and tranquility of the Virginia countryside. Situated at the cross-section of routes fifty and seventeen in the charming village of Paris, the inn includes ten guest accommodations on three acres of landscaped grounds that provide a view of Paris Mountain, Ashby Gap and Sky Meadows State Park. The restaurant prepares breakfast daily for all inn guests and is open for lunch and dinner Wednesday through Saturday and for brunch and dinner on Sunday. The Ashby serves as a pastoral setting for weddings, special events, and retreats. Guests of the inn find no shortage of activities in the area to fill their time, including antiquing, bird watching, cycling, hiking, reading, shopping, and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ashby Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashby Inn And Restaurant
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant Hotel Paris
The Ashby Inn Paris, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing