We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hostel is home to some of my fondest memories...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pearisburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This hostel is home to some of my fondest memories...”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This place is incredible. You'd miss out on a really lovely experience if you pass it up. Neville and Michael took me in when the weather was taking a turn for the worse. We worked out a work-for-stay, because I wanted to wait out the weather, and it couldn't have been a better experience. I had such an amazing time at this hostel, working in their garden and helping cook, but mainly sharing laughs and stories with other hikers and the owners. It felt like home, and it was really the only hostel along the AT that gave me that feeling along my thru-hike. If you aren't looking for a 5-star hotel, but rather a warm, welcoming home away from home, you must stay here. It is a very unique and lovely place, and I only hope I get the chance to return one day soon! Maybe for my honeymoon :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anoushdadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    3
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
5
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2012

As an at thru hiker I stayed in the bunk house and loved my stay. I got there late in the evening after dinner, however I was served amazing leftovers until I could no longer eat. Woke up to breakfast, which was delicious, and got my plantar fascia massaged. Neville is an angel

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marob4133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinton, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We visited Woods Hole Hostel last year and found it to be a wonderful experience. The massage was very professional and relaxing. The late lunch we enjoyed was pleasantly simple and very tasty.

Michael and Neville provided a great atmosphere of rustic elegance with truly wonderful conversation.

I would (and do!) recommend Woods Hole Hostel to anyone going that way!

~Mark & Erin

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooks_Mountain_Farm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed here with 6 other hikers on our AT thru hike. We all had a pretty miserable experience; we all also stayed in the bunk house. Nothing was explained, no wifi (even though it's advertised in the guide), drafty & cold sleeping area. I hit my head atleast a dozen times on the poorly designed bunk house. The chickens woke us up early in the mining and the privy was nasty to say the least. Even though we paid to stay there we were presented with a "chore jar" in the morning. It ended up being a shelter with electricity .5 off the trail that we had to pay to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Athiker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woods Hole H, Owner at Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 18 May 2017
HI At HIker 22,
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in 2012. We have made some wonderful and dramatic changes to the bunkhouse since your visit. We have tied in Real Mattresses, a cushy couch, and just a wonderful ambience. We have also removed the step where you bumped your head so many times. My grandad had a small scar on the top of his head from bumping it so many times!! :-) Alot of the renovations were thanks to the hikers that supported us, like yourself. They helped us get started at a mere $10 for the night. The current rate is $18 and this is due to the wonderful shower house that we have built and more. We hope that we have responded to your dislikes and proved that we can improve yours and everyone's experience at Woods Hole.
As for wifi, unfortunately, we are in the woods, isolated from town conveniences. We have Satelite internet, which is like having Data.. We do run out of internet. So, we are unable to open the internet up to everyone. We do have computers to loan for use as well as the option to purchase a GB of internet for $5.
Thank you and we hope that your Appalachian Trail Journey was filled with Magic and Wonder. We only regret that we could not have been part of that Magic and Wonder!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Be prepared when making the drive up Sugar Run Road to get to Wood's Hole. At times you feel like you are driving along some farmer's lane as you avoid washouts and large rocks (low clearance vehicles are not recommended). But once you see the hostel on the left, you have reached a little slice of heaven where the body and soul can truly relax.

I had won a night's stay as an auction item from the Buckeye Trail Association. Living in Ohio I wanted to spend two nights to make the drive worhtwhile, and I am so glad I did. I was able to convince the better half that this would be a nice getaway for us, and indeed it was! We enjoyed the quiet location, the closeness to the Appalachian Trail (make the hike from the hostel to Pearisburg along the AT, it's a great little hike), the food, the room, and the company. Neville and Michael run a great operation, and Neville especially gets everyone involved in the kitchen and around the dining room table. The meals were tasty, mostly homegrown, and filling. Our room was clean, quaint, and quiet. The dogs became our friends, and the couples massage was perfect. We are already planning another trip to Wood's Hole!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank predhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while hiking the Appalachian Trail. Neville & Michael were tremendous hosts, the place was spotless (stayed in the main house, not the bunk house) and the meals were excellent. Really a great place to stop, and you have to try the smoothies!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkhMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Ideal place for thru hikers on the Appalachian Trail- the hostel bunk house was clean: showers, laundry, very good breakfast, some supplies. We stayed in one of the 2 in house b n b rooms. Very nice room: country decor. shared bath + sink in room. This is a fine place to relax in the Virginia Mountains. The view from the porch is quite picturesque. Pigs, goats, chickens, cats, dogs, herb & vegetable gardens in close proximity. Walk/hike on grounds or on surrounding trails. The hosts are very community oriented, quite helpful and very clear in what they are providing. We really enjoyed our 3 nights here, feel very comfortable recommending it, but this is not the place for everyone. Please see their website and contact them if you have questions. http://www.woodsholehostel.com/

Room Tip: The hostel is for backpackers; It is not like a tourist hostel. The b n b rooms are in different b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pearisburg
18.7 mi away
Mountain Lake Lodge
Mountain Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pembroke
349 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
24.4 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Inn at Riverbend
Inn at Riverbend
#1 of 2 in Pearisburg
225 reviews
6.0 mi away
MacArthur Inn
MacArthur Inn
#1 of 1 in Narrows
46 reviews
8.2 mi away
Holiday Motor Lodge Pearisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat

Property: Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat
Address: 3696 Sugar Run Rd, Pearisburg, VA 24134
Region: United States > Virginia > Pearisburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Pearisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woods Hole is an 1880's chestnut log cabin with adjacent log bunkhouse in the Southwest corner of Virginia. Established in 1986, the hostel offers two private rooms, rustic bunkhouse, massage therapy, yoga, and family style meals. Woods Hole is located 1/2 mile off the Appalachian Trail and 45 minutes from I77 or I81. Find your way back to nature with Woods Hole Hostel & Mountain Retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing