We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters and More”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Beautiful B&B, wonderful hosts, great food.Biking, kayaking, fishing, and hiking were really nice.

Room Tip: Suites are new and huge. Old house rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reidduse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

Off the beaten path. It's quiet and cozy. We celebrated our anniversary there and loved it. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Beautiful waterfront on the creek, and we rented kayaks and paddled to the river. Quiet roads are great for bicycle riding. Nice breakfast, and the overall service was outstanding. Hosts are attentive to every detail. We look forward to returning sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Everything was GREAT! This was a special weekend (50th birthday) and we couldn't have picked a better Inn! Wine and cheese reception on Saturday night was nice, breakfasts were excellent and unique, room was big and comfortable. Restaurants in nearby Mathews were very good. We certainly will return.

Room Tip: Really enjoyed the East River Suite...very private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

A lovely relaxing bed and breakfast! The breakfasts are wonderful, strawberries from their garden, farm fresh eggs from local source, coffee always plentiful and hot! We also enjoyed a wine and cheese get together with the other guests on Saturday afternoon. We borrowed bikes from Greg and Lori and they provided us with helmets, water bottles and a detailed map so that we could traverse the area without riding on the main highway. When we returned, we enjoyed soaking in the in room jacuzzi to relax old sore muscles! It was a wonderful quiet getaway on a beautiful fall weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This is a wonderful B & B on the water in Mathews County. Greg and Lori go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. One of the great things for me was that I felt completely comfortable being a female visitor alone. Lovely little village and very nice people. The property is extremely well maintained and the breakfast was wonderful, including fresh crab! Seeing the waterfront properties by kayak was great. I stayed in the Captain's room with water views on three sides. Wireless internet if you MUST stay in touch. And did I mention a fresh water pool! Don't hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: In the main house the Captain's room is wonderful but all three rooms are very nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just an amazing place. I have stayed there for work several times and can't wait to go back. The inn keepers are fantastic, the best bed i have slept in, and the food is great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My father and I were in town to fish on the Chesapeake with Capitan Chris Newsome, desperately searching for an enjoyable time away from the constant hustle of the DC metro area. After researching a few local B & B’s I stumbled across Tabbs Creek situated on a faultless setting nestled in a cove overlooking the water. The Inn was peaceful, refreshing and tastefully decorated. Lori, Greg and Dave made the trip extra special with the immaculate breakfast and great recommendations to visit in the charming town of Matthews. If you’re looking for the perfect fishing escape, there is no alternative to charter fishing with Captain Chris Newsome who knows the bay like the back of his hand and a grip of the best fishing hideouts in the region. A trip we will both remember for the rest of our lives, I plan on recommending this to all my family and friends for years to come.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Region: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range: £97 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing