We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service supreme”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The view and the ambiance are wonderful. Summer has great biking and kayaking. Winter has hiking and relaxation. I have never been to a B&B where the owners sat and talked with you for the entire meal. Quite nice! This is a very green inn where the raise many of their breakfast ingredients and work hard to protect the environment AMAP.

Room Tip: you can't beat the Captain's room for a view out 6 windows to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reidduse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

We really appreciate your review, and thanks for your nice comments. We do enjoy getting to know guests over breakfast, and have shared many laughs and great stories around that table! We do understand that not everyone is into the communal dining experience, however, so we happily offer alternate breakfast times or private tables as well. We also appreciate your interest in our green re-model and oyster gardening as we love to share what we have learned and are continuing to learn.Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2012

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time staying at the inn through our living social deal. We wanted a relaxing get-away and The Inn at Tabb's creek exceeded our expectations. Greg, Lori, and Dave were great hosts, and cooked us the most wonderful breakfasts. We spent lots of time reading by the fire, watching movies, and watching the meteor shower out by the fire-pit. Everything was clean, cozy, and incredibly relaxing. I'd recommend the trip for anyone, even if its during the middle of winer in the middle of the week.

Room Tip: The captain's room was wonderful, great view of the water and the tempurpedic bed made a huge di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

So glad that you both had a wonderful time, and thanks for your kind review. We do love the stars and meteor showers here at night...just one of the many benefits of being located in the middle of NOwhere yet somewhere special with our small town and many unique shops and restaurants. Cheers to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Inn. The highlight for us was the daily breakfast. Oh how our mouths would water at the sight and smell each day.

We loved the hosts and would highly recommend this place to anyone who just want to get away from all the hustle of every day living.
We are hoping to revisit soon.

Sincerely,
Bruce and Karen

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubblegirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thanks for your review, and it is always nice to hear that our guests appreciate our breakfasts as we work hard to either grow as much ingredients as we can, or source them from local farms and vendors. It was nice to meet you both, and hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

That should say it all about the Inn at Tabbs Creek, but it doesn't begin to describe what a wonderful, magical place this is.

We've been lucky enough now to have visited during all four seasons over the last few years, and each time has left us wishing we could stay longer-- and checking our schedules to see how soon we could return.

Please do read all the other spectacular reviews here at Trip Advisor about The Inn at Tabbs Creek. Everything is true. The rooms are spotless, the setting is spectacular, the food is delicious, and Greg and Lori are exceptional hosts. You can make your stay here anything you want it to be, from relaxing and quiet, to secluded and romantic, to active and adventuresome -- or all these. Wildlife observation and birding opportunities abound, as does kayaking, paddle-boarding, boating, fishing, swimming, art collecting, antiquing, etc. It's quiet, the stars are bright, the beaches are great, and they have oysters (did I say "oysters!") and crabs right off their dock. Oh, and great Jacuzzi's, and a pool, and Saturday evening wine and cheese parties, and oyster roasts (did I say "oyster roasts!) and a fire-pit and ... well, you get the idea.

Did I mention the great Jacuzzi's?

Over the last few years, we've been to quite a few highly rated, first-class B&B's and Inns all over the eastern US. Without question though, The Inn at Tabbs Creek tops them all in every respect. So a word of warning -- a stay here is addictive. Greg and Lori will make you feel like the Inn is your second home and you will indeed want to keep going back.

Truly phenomenal.

Room Tip: We've have stayed in the gorgeous East River and Chesapeake Suites, but have seen all their room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Wow...we were simply blown away by your generous review! We feel like the lucky ones to have such loyal customers that return to our Inn year after year, (of course, the Beauty of Mathews County probably has something to do with it!). We are always trying to improve the guest experience, and will offer even more opportunities for Oyster roasts and tastings as well as eco-oyster boat tours in 2013. Thanks again for all of your great suggestions and support, and helping us to grow. We look forward to seeing you both again next time. Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Greg, Lori and Dave were excellent hosts. I was amazed at the generous assortment of snacks and beverages. The room was well-appointed and large. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and the lovely creek. Greg and Dave assured that we had good directions to the location of a wedding anniversary that we were attending in a nearby town. And the breakfast was exquisite. Greg's poached eggs over creamed spinach was a phenomenal dish; accompanied with fabulous biscuits, bacon, yogurt, and fruit. we would have loved to spend some time cycling or rowing; or an evening with smores at the fire pit, but we needed to return home for family events. We were also pleased to hear that they participated in an event for veterans. Thanks, and yes the Inn at Tabbs Creek is a destination worth visiting!

Room Tip: No need for a fitness center-plenty of outdoor activities--boating, swimming, and cycling. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thanks for your kind review, and really glad that you enjoyed your breakfast as that was a relatively new dish for Greg in trying to figure out what to do with the explosion of Spinach coming out of our garden! We hope that you will be able to visit again and stay longer next time. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed for 8 nights at this delightful B&B and greatly enjoyed a relaxing break. Greg and Lori made us feel welcome and were very helpful and cordial, it was like staying with distant relatives: relaxed and cosy, but not cloying.

The Inn is well appointed and nicely outfitted (and all done by Greg and Lori with help from assorted relatives) and has exactly what one needs for a relaxing holiday - no phones, radio or TV in the rooms! (for the terminally TV addicted there is a TV and DVD player in the library, along with DVDs to watch there or on the personal DVD player in the rooms. They also have WiFi). There is a microwave and small fridge for use by the guests, which means although the Inn does not do dinner, guests can bring in food for lunch and dinner and eat in the dining room. One evening we made a communal dinner with Greg and Lori, Dave and ourselves cooking (a great experience).

Unfortunately, although the weather was mostly bright and sunny, it was too cold to enjoy the outdoors and the kajaks and canoes the Inn also offers. Mathews is a short drive away and the "big city" (Gloucester or Williamsburg or Hampton Roads) within reasonable driving distance.

Breakfasts were rich and filling, the home-made savoury scones ("biscuits") and creamed spinach being a particular favourite. Breakfasts were served at 8:30 and, as we were joined by other guests and by Greg and Lori (and Greg's parents), with interesting tabletop discussions they frequently pleasantly stretched out to 9:30 or 10am - making it more a brunch than a breakfast.

As the Inn is an old building, it is relatively acoustically transparent: although staying at the end of the season meant that we pretty much had the place to ourselves, so it was very, very quiet and peaceful. However, with a "full house" it might get a bit loud for some.

In all, an excellent place for an end of season "flake-out" stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seat64K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you so much for your kind and thorough review of our property. We enjoyed getting to know you both, and particularly appreciated our communal dinner the evening you and David cooked for the rest of us....You make a mean shrimp bisque! We so love meeting guests from all over the world, and only adds to the otherwise already interesting morning conversations. Glad you had a nice visit to the States, and wish you both all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I have stayed at many B&B's and The Inn at Tabbs Creek is at the top. From the spectacular setting, wonderful room, fire pit, pier out to the quiet cove, availability of kayaks and canoes, great breakfast, and certainly the sincerely friendly feeling that innkeepers Lori, Greg, and Dave are there to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable-and it certainly will be!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1SunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

We greatly appreciate your kind review. We enjoyed meeting you, and thanks for leading the fire pit party that evening...everyone had a really fun time! Hope to see you again one day if you make it back to our area. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Region: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range: £102 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing