We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Inn Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife Gina and I met our friends (two other couples) at the Inn at Tabbs Creek. We stayed five days and had the best time ever. The rooms were so inviting and comfortable. The breakfasts were the best ever and our hosts, Lori and Greg, made us feel like we were part of the family. My friend went fishing off their dock and snagged a little fish. The next couple pulled in a 3 ft. shark. Imagine that! The Inn's pool was so refreshing. We took a boat tour - right off of their dock - and shucked oysters. I ate my first oyster ever ... not as bad as I thought it was going to be. Bikes are provided at the Inn ... took a ride before breakfast several times to enjoy the lush scenery. Can't wait to return.
Gary Johnson - Aug. 2013

Room Tip: Each room in the main Inn is beautiful. We stayed in the Captain's Room. It has a separate sitti...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I spent from Monday through Thursday at the Inn at Tabbs Creek and enjoyed every waking hour. This was our first B&B, so we were a bit leery of paying for an entire week and thought we could extended our stay once we arrived. They booked up so fast we did not have the opportunity to extend our stay, so don't delay when making your reservations.

The ambience is absolutely astounding. Take a walk through the garden paths and enjoy observing the beautiful flowers and the butterflies that are attracted to them. If you look hard enough you might even see a colorful lizard pass by your feet. Taking an afternoon dip in the pool was refreshing after spending most of our day either in the small town of Mathews or on one of the secluded beaches in the area. If you want to be unplugged, rest, relax, this is the place to go. The breakfasts that were cooked every morning were absolutely delightful to the taste buds. The rooms were clean and luxurious from the sheets, pillows, towels and the bed was absolutely fabulous. Greg and Lori supplied all of the amenities of home such as shampoo, conditioner, soap, beach towels, and they went above and beyond with fishing poles and makings for s’mores.

We are definitely going back, but this time it will be for an entire week. If you want action and adventure perhaps this is not the place for you. Lori, Greg, and Dave are wonderful people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMFSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The inn has a beautiful and peaceful location. The innkeepers have done a great job of restoring the house and do their best to provide everything a guest might want or need. The breakfast is one of the best we have ever had at a B&B. Our room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankS355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Inn at Tabb’s Creek was a wonderful respite and beautiful setting which offered my husband and I the opportunity to get away for a few days and reconnect. Lori and Greg were welcoming and offered up their home for everyone to enjoy. From a relaxing afternoon dip in the pool to a campfire and s’ mores in the evening, we found ourselves happy just to sit back and enjoy the week. The breakfast was awesome, from the fresh produce to excellent casseroles and breads, it was well rounded without being too much. It was a great value and we will go again as well as share this experience with our friends.

Room Tip: The Tabbs Creek Room is a good value, however it is modestly sized.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was our third time to the Inn at Tabb's Creek. As usual, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food at breakfast rivals any fancy restaurant we have ever been to. Many of the ingredients are fresh from their garden. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The dock is lovely. We love to walk out and sit on the dock and watch the sun go down. Greg and Lori are fantastic hosts who think of absolutely everything. We highly recommend the Inn to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Spent two enjoyable nights at The Inn at Tabbs Creek. It does have a wonderful location with a beautiful view of an inlet. Sitting at the end of the dock viewing great sunsets is a treat. The well-decorated room, actually a suite, in a separate building was very spacious and comfortable. The very clean small pool was refreshing and nice to have. Breakfast in the main house was truly excellent with lots of choices. Good restaurants in nearby Matthews...a touch of old-fashioned small America. The only minor negative was that the public rooms in the main house appeared somewhat tired.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pollydick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here last year for our anniversary getaway. We only stayed for two nights, but I wish we could have stayed longer! The inn is beautiful and location secluded and quiet - perfect for a relaxing, romantic getaway weekend! The inn keepers, Lori and Greg, are extremely nice and make delicious breakfasts.

We were lucky that a Seafood Feast weekend happened to coincide with our stay - we enjoyed wine, grilled oysters that they grow themselves, Chesapeake crab, shrimp and wonderful conversation with most of the other guests.

We spent a lot of time in the room (Tabbs Room), since it stormed most of our trip, but it worked out well - our room was a decent size for being the least expensive available. It was small, but cozy. There are portable DVD players in all rooms, and a large selection of books and DVDs in the main house for entertainment, as well as a pool, fishing dock, kayaks and paddle boards (for a fee), and fire pit.

When the weather cleared, Lori and Greg were kind enough to let us stay past check-out time to try out stand-up paddling boarding. Although neither one of us had any experience, Greg gave us a quick lesson, then let us go out on our own. We had a blast!

I would definitely recommend this B&B to others. Its location in small town Mathews is just a short drive to other cute small towns and Bethel Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabbsCreek, Manager at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hello, and so nice of you to write a review a year later! That is so cool, and means a lot to us that you are still thinking about your time here. Thanks also for sharing the pictures, but what is so crazy for us to see is how much we have changed in a year...the room you stayed in, (the Tabbs Creek Room), is still nice, but is now even more super cool as we have totally remodeled it with updated colors to reflect our waterside vibe, plus guest fridge, Keurig coffee maker, sitting area...the list goes on. We have also totally re-done the dock, added a floating dock. lots of extra seating, etc. If you get the chance, would love to see you both again so you can update your memories and photo album! Just let us know...we like to take care of our former guests.
Cheers and all the best!

Lori and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Haywood
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
372 reviews
22.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
23.7 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#3 of 7 in Cape Charles
169 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
213 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 9 in Cape Charles
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Region: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range: £100 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing