We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite Virginia B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We received a winter special stay for Christmas last year and booked an additional night in the Captain's Room for a total of a 3 night stay. When we arrived, it was already dark and I can see how people have trouble finding the road to turn on off the main road. We didn't do much exploring until the next day but were able to make ourselves at home as soon as we arrived! We were greeted by one of the innkeeper's brothers and were given a short tour and taken to our room. Our room was just fabulous! Sunny, bright, and facing the water! The bed was super comfy and the bathroom was quite beautiful with mosaic tiling.

We enjoyed all of the personal and homey touches the Inn at Tabbs Creek provides thanks to Lore and Greg. We loved having the common living room and socializing with other guests, watching movies on the leather couches, and browsing the inn's mini-library. The breakfasts were INCREDIBLE! We never left the dining table hungry! They were quite unique breakfasts with traditional touches. We also enjoyed the Saturday night happy hour getting to know the other guests and the innkeepers while enjoys wine and appetizers! The fire pit was well-utilized since our stay was in March. We used some of the provided smore fixings and got hot dogs to make over the fire!

While this is a water town, it is great to visit in the winter too! There is plenty to do on site at the inn! You really don't have to provide about a thing once you arrive! Lori and Greg have everything covered! We are already planning another visit in the coming months for some R&R!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife & I enjoyed the warm hospitality of Lori & Greg, the gourmet breakfasts prepared by Greg, the grounds,
the peacefulness & scenery. Enjoyed easy ride on Tabbs Inn-provided bikes, to the Chesapeake Bay.
Highly recommend! We look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and I just spent three nights at "The Inn". Greg and Lori and Lori's brother David, made our visit absolutely "the best"! Breakfast was letter perfect. They were decorating with all natural locally available materials, and what a great job they were doing. Wish we could spend Christmas at "The Inn at Tabbs Creek"!!!!
Greg and Lori are perfect host and hostess. Can not wait to return at our first opportunity!

Room Tip: We love all the rooms, but usually choose either the Chesapeake Suite or East River Suite. But we lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkipperandSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I needed to unplug and forget everything for a few days -- found this Inn via a web search and are we ever glad we did. Greg and Lori are doing it right -- the most important aspect of a B&B is to feel immediately comfortable, and they have mastered the art. The property is beautiful, the rooms are superb, and the breakfasts and amenities are absolutely outstanding.
We didn't leave the property except to take long walks and go into Matthews for dinner -- about 3 miles away -- four different restaurants and four fantastic meals.

We've stayed in dozens of B&Bs and the Inn at Tabbs Creek is a the very top of our list. It won't be long before you'll have to make reservations months in advance!

Room Tip: If you're going to be spending time in your room reading, relaxing, etc -- we recommend a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tr0utBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our third visit to the Inn at Tabbs Creek and our first visit during the fall. We love coming here to rest and relax. Greg and Lori do an amazing job! The breakfasts every morning are awesome, delicious, and memorable. Greg's cooking is one reason we keep coming back...the cheesy grits, the biscuits, the oatmeal pancakes...yum! We've stayed three times in the East River Suite and really look forward to visiting again. There's a lot of cool activities - watching the fish at night circle the light submerged off the dock, hanging out at the firepit, playing bocce, horseshoes, or cornhole. The area has some really good restaurants and Bethel Beach is a great place to enjoy the bay. We will certainly visit again!

Room Tip: We like the East River Suite. It's very big, great big bed, sitting area, and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Greg and Lori made us feel immediately at home in this lovely bed and breakfast inn, which sits at the end of a lane on a finger of the Chesapeake Bay. Any question was answered, anything you needed was at hand. Sit on the dock overlooking the water with a glass of local wine, oar make a fire in the fire pit, or go out on a canoe or kayak. It was the ultimate relaxing experience and our hosts set the tone - so welcoming - and Greg cooked up amazing breakfasts that kept us full all day. Both Lori and Greg have lovingly renovated this old property and made it a top notch bed and breakfast. The decor in the rooms, the small touches of painting and furniture are amazing. Bring a book, the doors are always open to grab a snack in the main house and simply relax.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toddaz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The quiet, the dock, the water view...excellent hosts...comfortable rooms. That's part of why we hope to come back again.
We've stayed in some Virginia B & B's that were stuffy, over-priced or w/ inconsiderate, noisy houseguests. Not The Inn at Tabbs Creek!
Great place to get away from urban day-to-day. Bring a book but their Library is nice, too.
We hope prices remain stable--it's a great spot to visit!
Thank you for another relaxing break--hope to return before too long.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the house are good--we've stayed in 2 of them--slept great. It's a beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Haywood
22.0 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
380 reviews
22.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
214 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 9 in Cape Charles
301 reviews
22.7 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#2 of 2 in Kilmarnock
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Region: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range: £102 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing