We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Spotsylvania, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The inn @ Tabbs creek is a great place to get away. If you can't relax here, it is your fault. The owners make you feel right at home. We have been to many and this was the best. Please check out the white dog bistro in Matthews for dinner.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frankie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
311
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Inn at Tabbs Creek charmed us in every way, beginning with the sign at the (very small) turn-off road that read, "Yes, this really is the right road." The tranquil setting, well-appointed suite, delicious food, and impeccable service combined to provide exactly the relaxing get-away that we needed. The sunset boat ride on the East River was a definite bonus - beautiful views and fresh oysters! The Inn's location is secluded, but nearby towns, beaches, farmer's markets and historical sites are easily accessible. The Inn at Tabbs Creek goes on our list of places to get back to as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Suites are detached from the main house, but provide more privacy. Rooms are in the main house, and...
See more room tips
Green Features: The management of the Inn has received the highest certification possible for eco-friendly practices.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia beach, va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We came to celebrate our 48th anniversary. Our stay was too short to take advantage of all the wonderful amenities, but long enough to know we want to come back. We love to stay at B&B's and this is one of the best. Kudos to The Inn at Tabb's Creek!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lockerdmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyncote PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Inn the last weekend in March and had one of the most pleasant and relaxing weekends ever!!. We sat on the dock, built a fire, took a ride to Gloucester (nice town, great small museum), did I mention relax!
It doesn't matter what your interests are, the Inn offers an environment that meets all your needs. Four couples were down that weekend, one brought fishing rods and walked on the beach, two couples that were down together did the historical things (Jamestown etc..) and us.
I don't usually visit a property twice, I like to see different things. The Inn at Tabbs Creek is my exception, I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkb4605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I try to have a 2-3 night Bed & Breakfast get away every summer and our recent stay at The Inn at Tabb's Creek was quite possibly the best ever. The vibe is very relaxed and casual, but every need was met. We started each morning early with a 1-2 hour SUP paddle on the East River. Our paddle was followed by an absolutely delicious and very generous breakfast, with many items fresh from the garden, others locally sourced. Days were spent exploring the area or just relaxing on the dock. The owners were gracious but not overbearing hosts, with great knowledge of the area and its history. We will definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I enjoyed the Inn at Tabb's Creek for our 3rd Wedding Anniversary. This B&B has a lot to offer. Free canoe, bikes, fishing gear, fire pit, grills, etc. They offer boat tours and charter fishing, and kayak rentals. The breakfast were very yummy and the portions were generous as well. I would definitely recommend the Inn at Tabb's creek for a quite relaxing weekend getaway. The local Restaurant's had a good variety of different types of cuisine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonaldB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is the first time we have stayed in a B & B. What a great experience we had. We loved our room. We had our own bathroom and our own thermostat. Very clean. Maid service daily. We used the free bikes and went for a nice ride to really take in the neighborhood. Very warm welcome. The breakfast is amazing. The grounds are beautiful and super clean. We loved everything!!! Gary & Christina Haber

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Haywood
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
353 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
100 reviews
22.9 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
205 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Tides Inn
The Tides Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
549 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 9 in Cape Charles
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Property: The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Region: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing