We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation, relaxation, relaxation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We would recommend The Inn at Tabbs Creek to anyone looking for a particularly relaxing weekend, especially at this time of year. My husband and I were seeking a bed and breakfast that could offer a cosy place to sit by the fire and at the same time, a feeling of luxury. We found both at the Inn! After a cold day exploring Mathews County, it was lovely to warm up in the library by the fire and our suite, had everything we needed; spacious shower, comfortable bed and delicious breakfasts. We really enjoyed that we could have our own privacy but at the same time, feel welcome to join other guests in the Main House. Spending time with Lori and Greg was fun and we're both excited to join them in the Summer, when we'd like to try paddle boarding.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyemv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Inn At Tabbs Creek a few days ago - we loved the peacefulness, not to mention the attention to detail we were shown by Greg, Lori and David. They were the best! I really appreciated how they made our stay one we will not soon forget. This was our first time staying at a B&B and it was just perfect. Loved and enjoyed every minute of it. The chef was wonderful who prepared a fresh, tasty and abundant breakfast. The Captains room was fantastic and we enjoyed watching the birds outside of our window. The Inn keepers showed us a fantastic winter walk near a nature preserve where we saw two Bald Eagles gliding in the air above. What a joy it was to return back to the Inn with a gourmet selection of hot tea which warmed us up and prepared us for another great nights sleep. What a way to spend some of the Holidays. Thanks again and we will surely return in the Spring!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tex62cornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

My wife and I recently spent a wonderful three days snowed in at Greg and Lori's bed and breakfast. The rooms all have spectacular water views and the hospitality shown by the couple made the stay a truly memorable one.The birding was very entertaining even for experienced birders. The food was very high quality. We will return there for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reidduse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

My husband and I just spent an incredibly relaxing weekend at this beautiful B & B. We couldn't have asked for more hospitality, better cooking or more incredible views. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blessedfaithfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

If you are thinking about a small intimate wedding consider The Inn at Tabbs Creek. Our daughter chose The Inn for her wedding and the experience was wonderful. The setting is natural, peaceful, and beautiful. Greg and Lori, the owners and hosts, were attentive and gracious. They shared their home and allowed you just the right amount of privacy. They were helpful with planning ideas and provided assistance when needed. The delicious food, breakfasts, appetizers, to a wedding dinner, was enjoyed by the families with a lovely view of natural Virginia. This special event was made even more memorable at this very special family-run bed and breakfast. Our daughter may have only one wedding but everyone there agreed that return visits are a must! Thank you Greg and Lori.
Ellen and Scott Glassgow

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenmwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Greg and Lori have transformed their secluded property into a gracious but casual and welcoming inn. We arrived in a record-breaking rainstorm and were grateful for the cozy library, the lovely room and view, and the common area with easy access to tea and coffee. All the comforts of home. The breakfast was delicious – don’t miss the warm blueberry sauce on Greg’s special pancakes. Their location on the inlet is perfect for kayaking, which we plan to do next time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredfromRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

One really can't ask for more in a weekend - or longer- getaway. Greg and Lori are incredibly gracious hosts and very accommodating. They've created a wonderful place to relax and recharge. If you are into the gentler watersports (kayaking, canoeing, paddle-boarding, etc.) birdwatching, or just enjoying nature, this place is spectacular. We love it and can't wait 'til we can go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtrmkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Region: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range: £101 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing