We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nasty & Scary beware!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relax Inn Portsmouth VA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relax Inn Portsmouth VA
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Ocracoke, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nasty & Scary beware!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

When we first pulled in I thought to myself " this can't be IT!" The hotel is very old and run down. The room itself was dirty and old...VERY OLD! I was scared to put anything on the counter because of all the germs. I would have left but the only reason I booked this place was because everything else was already taken, now I know why! My friend was planning on sleeping on the pull-out couch but when he pulled it out, it made crunching noises and had a ton on stains. The only good thing about this place was the nice lady at the front desk, but that did not make the room any cleaner. We were going home the next day and did not even bother to take a shower because the bathroom was way dirter then we were, try not to stay here, would have rather selpt in my car!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltime1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    3
    3
    22
See reviews for
9
7
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroeville PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We were disappointed in the bathroom. the stopper for the bathroom sink could not work and the bathtub was horrible. The non-slip mat was rimmed with what looked like mold. Also we could not cancel the reservation the morning of our arrival (one of us became ill and we were not sure if we could make the trip). When we called they indicated that "CANCELLATION HAD TO BE MADE 24 HRS IN ADVANCE" was somewhere on the website; however we could not find it. The deskclerks were pleasant enough, but we would not recommend this motel at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tandllynskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

Manager was rude, lude, and crude! He charged us for a one-night stay (deposit) because we moved to another motel instead of his. This motor lodge was filthy, with a spider sitting in the room. While on govt travel, many other hotels do not charge us one-night deposit if we cancel because we often are separated from our group due to lack of room blocks.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

i stayed for 4 nights & slept like a baby all 4 nights ,excellent staff very helpful. not bad for the price as quality inn. good breakfast which was very helpful in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank money081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, GA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

Arrived late afternoon. Never left car. Called to cancel from cellphone and charged for rooms because no 24 hour notice. Stayed at another Choice Hotel that referred to this one as "crack alley". Photos on website totally misrepresent actual facility. Some construction being done but very bad condition evident from parking lot and thru open doors.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nastyplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2007

This is not a luxury hotel, but if you are passing through town...no reason to pay more somewhere else. It was fine for me.I was told by friends that this is a really rough neighborhood, but I am a 29yr old single woman and had no problems at all. The front desk staff was very nice.The room only had 2 towels and a small TV...but again...this is only a 2 star hotel. It was very clean and quiet. I stayed on a Wednesday night. Weekends may be more noisy...who knows? I would not bring my kids...just because of the reputation of the area of town,but for me-it was perfect for what I needed the room for...a quick stop through town to meet a friend.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank momof3atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2004

June/July 2004
My daughter and myself spent 11 days at this motel. We were treated very well by all of the staff, they were friendly,polite and helpful. The room was clean and adequate for our needs, and house-keeping called each day. I look forward to staying there again in the very near future.

Helpful?
5 Thank polly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Super Value Inn Ports Mouth/Olde Town Area
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Olde Town
Comfort Inn Olde Town
#3 of 5 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverwalk Inn & Suites Portsmouth
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
1.3 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn Portsmouth VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn Portsmouth VA

Property: Relax Inn Portsmouth VA
Address: 1031 London Boulevard, Portsmouth, VA 23704 (Formerly Rodeway Inn near Naval Hospital)
Region: United States > Virginia > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Relax Inn Portsmouth VA 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Portsmouth hotel caters to both business travelers and vacationing tourists alike on a budget with complimentary services and amenities such as free breakfast and: Let us offer you a fresh, clean room for a good night's sleep, which include features such as TVs, hair dryers, coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators and a nice, hot shower to wake you up. Select rooms come with kitchenettes. Get the rest you need for wherever travel takes you at the Relax Inn near Naval Hospital hotel in Portsmouth. We look forward to hosting you - reserve your guest room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Relax Inn Portsmouth VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing