We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Olde Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn Olde Town
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Elkhorn City, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Its in an historic district of Portsmouth with lots of old churches and buildings close by. Hotel was clean and staff was friendly. Double beds were small but comfortable enough. Pillows left a little to be desired. Small 25" "box" style tv in room. Pool was clean and fitness room was adequate. 2 gas stations, Pizza Hut, Mcdonalds, Churchs Fried Chicken and a Starbucks were all on same block w/in walking distance. Will have to drive to nicer eating establishments.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tatecrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    14
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
15
13
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Friendly staff, especially the manager. He took good care of us....Nice and quient place...Close to shopping and downtown...Breakfast experience was not bad at all...We enjoyed our stay overall.............

Room Tip: Talk to the staff and they will guide you per your needs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This place is okay, but if you're used to a typical Courtyard or Hampton Inn, this is a step down. The breakfast is basically donuts, orange juice, and the waffle machine. No yogurt, skim milk, oatmeal, or fruit. They start vacuuming the hallway at 7:30 am (while banging the vacuum into your room door). The vent in the bathroom was so caked with dust that it looked as it had not been cleaned in years. The front desk assigns Hotwire reservations to smoking rooms and then claims that is what you requested (it's not even possible to make that request in Hotwire). However, they're willing to work with you when they have an open room. The staff is friendly, but if your expectations are low, you won't be too disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchville
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed here at the last minute after leaving another motel down the block that was horrible. The front desk attendant, Cindy, after hearing of my trauma, upgraded me to an efficiency, so for $89, I had anice room with a little kitchenette. It was clean, comfortable, quiet, and everything worked. The hot breakfast was included and was good enough. I really appreciated the help I received from Cindy and her understanding after I accidentally booked a room at a motel that appeared to be running drugs and prostitutes out of it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asset1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

If your in Portsmouth for a night, this place is adequate for a nights rest, clean, quite but could use some furniture updating. Honestly they should not offer the free breakfast, good for coffee but skip the rest. If your going to offer a free hot breakfast do it right or not at all is my theory. To make a long story short good if your spending a night but don't choose this place for any length of time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hipster_Tripsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Nice Hotel , would stay again. Quiet rooms, clean. Older TV's but work well. Nice Location. Portsmouth is a great stop on a vacation, port city with many things to do. Excellent Seafood Restaurants. Recommend either Roger Browns (sports bar and rest.) or Lobscouser (Great Seafood).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here on several occasions. At best I would say the staff do a great job given what they have to work with.
Comfortable beds, utilitarian digs. If you are on a budget and want few surprises, this property will suffice. No premium features.
Safe

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Super Value Inn Ports Mouth/Olde Town Area
0.1 mi away
Riverwalk Inn & Suites Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Olde Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Olde Town

Property: Comfort Inn Olde Town
Address: 347 Effingham St, Portsmouth, VA 23704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Olde Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Comfort Inn Olde Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Olde Town Hotel Portsmouth
Comfort Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing