We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the children!”

Children's Museum of Virginia
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for the children!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My granddaughter is five and never gets tried of this hands on children's museum. I take her as often as I can. She never wants to leave , so I have to entice her with a trip to the gift shop before we go. She always fines something in my budget to take as a keepsake. The Children's Museum of Virginia is a real treasure here in Portsmouth, VA.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    45
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Children's Museum is a perfect spot for families. Children of all ages (even adults) will love the exhibits and its even educational at the same time!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Billy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kids loved it!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our 3 and 6 year old loved this place, particularly the activities on the first floor. The first floor was different play activities, where the second floor was more science. We did see the "stars" planetarium show but left part way through as it wasn't that engaging and there were better things to do through this museum. Overall a really fun place for the family.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AParlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages at the Children’s Museum”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Fun for old and young… my 19-month old granddaughter had fun in the play yard for the “under-threes” as well as exploring some of the other areas. She played hard for 2 hours then fell asleep before we even got to check out the cool stuff upstairs, so we’ll have to go back!

She enjoyed climbing on the turtle, playing in the huge robin’s nest, reading books and playing peek-a-boo in the play yard. A family bathroom right off the play yard - big enough to push a stroller into - is a BIG plus!



She also enjoyed the “town” area, brushing big teeth, “driving” the big bus, and was very excited to see Elmo in the little library. 



Her 90-year-old great grandpa had lots of fun watching the large model train layout and looking at every detail of the phenomenal vintage train and toy collection. There’s an orange tube that kids can crawl through, and come up inside a clear plastic dome right in the middle of the train layout, for a fabulous, close-up view.



The planetarium show looked like it would have been nice but the timing didn’t work in with our nap time that day … however it’s a great opportunity for grownups to sit and learn something while a little one naps, we saw some other families do that.



The museum is just a short block and a half from the Portside docking area, where we strolled around in lovely weather and looked at boats.
The nap schedule was a little off that day, otherwise we would have gone back to the museum after the nap in the sun.



The museum shop has some of the coolest fun and educational toys you’ll find anywhere, although it can be a little tricky to navigate a stroller in there.



The Children's Museum of Virginia is the largest children's museum in the state of Virginia, and it is located in the heart of charming Olde Town Portsmouth. Their posted sign said they are usually closed on Mondays, unless it’s a day off of school … what a great place to go on a school holiday!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meryl Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Took our grandson here! It is so cool! My husband and I enjoy it as much as thirds do! We like how much the kids learn from each display

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bennetts_creek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Children's Museum of Virginia also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing