We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We liked the staff who were helpful and interested in making our stay a pleasant experience.

Our king sized bed was comfortable, the room clean, plenty of hot water, small frig, lots of electrical outlets, and nice view of river. The bathroom was showing some wear.

The soundproofing was disappointing--hearing the neighbors' toilets and late night bed romp through the wall despite there being hardly any guests over the holiday woke us both up repeatedly--and my husband is not a light sleeper. I turned on the fan to try to create white noise, but it added a high pitched whine, so not particularly soothing.

We don't usually do breakfast buffet, but we were late getting up after the sleep interruptions, so it was more like brunch and the price off the menu would add up quickly to $16, so we both got the buffet. Lots of fresh fruit, hot foods, and you could order small waffle or omelet. Only the sausage was too greasy and the scrambled eggs past their prime. All in all we found plenty to eat.

It definitely feels like a conference hotel with very high ceilings and wide hallways outside the meeting rooms. Not cozy in the common areas for wifi and a little cold from a draft and the high ceilings.

I tried to bid for a discount via Priceline, but no luck so went with AAA.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxwell D, Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for selecting our hotel and for taking time to tell us about your stay. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments about our gorgeous views and Grand Lobby Entrance. Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Would stay here again and highly recommend. We were in the area to visit family for thanksgiving and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. I got food poision not from here but on my way up from Florida. Was very sick and the staff was very kind and changed out my sheets and trash can several times through the night. So greatful to very kind staff. Hope my next stay with them is on better circumstances.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lgblondeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxwell D, Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review about the Portsmouth Renaissance. Our mission is to provide an Excellent stay for all of our guests. We value your feedback and are always looking at ways in which we can improve. We look forward to seeing you again and provide a fantastic stay for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this property twice during the same week. Renaissance is different from the homogeneous parent company Marriott in that the experience can be quite different from place to place. In most cases I mean this in a positive way. This Renaissance was quite a special place. Nice rooms with great views. The featured view which I had on my second visit is across the river toward downtown Norfolk. However I preferred the other view which was across the river toward the Navy Yard. Just a couple of hundred yards away was a monster aircraft carrier in for service.

To me one of the overrated pleasures is room service. Here, however, I had one of the best room service experiences. Delightful food served hot and fresh.

I would also like to mention the special follow up work by Assistant Manager Mike Seigneur. And there were also some special touches in the room provided by housekeeping's Thelma.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the two river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxwell D, Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank You so much for your kind words your response is valued. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectaions here at the Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel.Safe Travels and Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with this selection from priceline.com. Be mindful that parking is $10, but they gave us permission to our car in our space after checkout (there's lots of shopping and eating to do on High Street). Tip: use the elevator (the stairs are emergency exit only). But checkout is 12 noon. Woohoo!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank JCKimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren_Portsmouth, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thanks for the great review. We know you have a choice in travel and appreciate you as our guest. Glad you had a chance to walk down high street. We recommend the restaurant STILL for your return trip. Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed there on Saturday night. The hotel lobby is huge. The hotel has totally been remodeled. The room was clean, comfortable with a beautiful view of the Elizabeth River. I used the fitness center and it was very, very, nice. We will come back for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Rather than stay in downtown Norfolk, stay here and take the ferry across.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfsunnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren_Portsmouth, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for selecting our hotel and for taking time to tell us about your stay. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments about our gorgeous views and Grand Lobby Entrance. Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is beautiful from the front, the lobby, etc... I have stayed in many Marriott hotels and love them so when I saw the Renaissance by Marriott I knew I was in for the best. Check in was smooth my problem arised when I got to the room. Such a big hotel like this and no microwave in the room. Geez I have stayed in super 8 hotels for a lot less in cost and had a microwave. Then one of the phones (night stand) didn't work. I needed to get some work done was going to tap into the wifi only to find it was 9.95 a day unless I come to the lobby. Who does that now.. it is very rare that you find a hotel or even a motel at that rate that does not offer free wfi in the rooms. I sat there wondering REALLY a nice hotel like this charging 10.00 a day to use wifi. It's a crying shame you can go to barnes and nobles, starbucks, even McDonalds and get wifi but can not get it in a nice hotel like this. The telephone was not an real issue for me but the wifi and the microwave was a deal breaker. Due to those two things I will not stay at this hotel again nor will I recommend it to friends. Int he world we in now wifi is just like oxygen. I was on called so at 1am I had to lug my laptop downstairs to troubleshoot an issue at my job when I could have stayed in my comfy room and work if wifi was offered. IT WAS A DEAL BREAKER!!!!!!! :-(

Room Tip: I was in room 1522 and great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shenay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren_Portsmouth, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for trying the Renaissance Portsmouth/Norfolk Waterfront Hotel during your stay. I apologize that you did not see the value as you see in other hotels and establishments. Renaissance hotels are quite different from Super 8s, being they are a full service hotel. Each brand is different and have different amenities and standards; such as internet and microwaves. It is all dependant on the customer's preference and experience they are looking for. Thank you for trying the Renaissance brand.

I am happy to read that you found the hotel lobby to be beautiful and your check-in process to be smooth. Again, I thank you for trying our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The restaurant manager went out of his way to accommodate our office for a retirement party. He arranged for us to have the entire restaurant for that evening, even the parking was arranged. The food was superb, cooked perfectly. I would not hesitate having another celebration at the Foggy Point Restaurant. It is not often that service is rendered so readily and pleasantly anymore. I look forward to my next visit. Thank you Mr. Duffy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golden202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren_Portsmouth, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

First and foremost....Congratulations again!! and of course thank you for the oppurtunity to host your retirement party with us. Special occasions bring out the best in our Restaurant and Culinary team. Keith and his staff have been congratulated based on your kind comments!!! Thank you for the recognition, it means alot to us.

Please come back and dine with us when you are in the neighborhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.7 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#1 of 37 in Norfolk
358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Olde Town
Quality Inn Olde Town
#3 of 5 in Portsmouth
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel

Address: 425 Water St, Portsmouth, VA 23704-3801
Region: United States > Virginia > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £95 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending traditional elegance and modern style, our waterside Norfolk, VA area hotel in the historic downtown district of Olde Towne Portsmouth provides calming comfort and soothing relaxation. The Renaissance Portsmouth hotel boasts a hip location overlooking the vibrant, revitalized waterfront and offers stunning views of the Elizabeth River. Set above the harbor, the Portsmouth Ballroom's unique outdoor terrace, part of the 24,000 square feet of Norfolk area hotel meeting space, provides a stunning reception area sure to draw rave reviews from your guests. This updated luxurious Norfolk, Virginia area hotel also features 23 meeting rooms including a 70-seat Amphitheater. Savor the atmosphere of this waterside hotel in Portsmouth at Foggy Point Bar & Grill, presenting a selection of fresh seafood. Visitors to the area can enjoy the unique experience of taking the nearby water taxi across to many of the Norfolk business and visitor destinations including the Norfolk Naval facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel & Waterfront Portsmouth
Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel And Waterfront Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing