We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average for a Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Below average for a Marriott”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Let's start from the entrance, or rather the entrance hall. The architect of this building must have been on crack, and I am not talking concrete. You have to walk a couple of hundred yards from the entrance before you make the turn into the lobby. Once checked in, it was another 100+ yards to the elevators.

We were staying on points (lifetime Gold Member) over Memorial Day weekend, and asked if the room had a nice view. "Oh yes, it overlooks the Norfolk skyline." Well, after a fashion. 75% of the rooms overlook the harbor. Our room (in the 25% group) overlooks a dry dock, if you climbed over the divan blocking the window.

The carpenters did a great job installing the plumbing fixtures. Rust behind the toilet, and the tub didn't drain. The next day, we called for our room to be cleaned before we returned 1.5 hours later in the morning. Not. Called again when we left for the afternoon, only to return to find a pillow laying on the foot of the bed and no coffee packages left in the room. The ice bucket was left half full of water from the previous day's ice. No gratuity for this staff.

The concierge lounge staff on Monday were under-supplied or overwhelmed by the half dozen patrons, running out of silverware and no bowls to eat cereal. Newspapers? No. Checked lobby... "if we have any they would be over there in the business center." No sign of a paper.

Back to structure: The hotel's parking garage is actually a city garage and connected only in proximity to the hotel. On the plus side, we were not charged the $10/day for parking the clerk had told us about.

This hotel doesn't live up to Marriott Renaissance standards.

Room Tip: Overlook the port, not the Norfolk skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
On behalf of Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel management and staff, thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay. Would like to personally apologize for the opportunities missed as stated on your review. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations.
All the concerns addressed in your review were discussed with senior management today! Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    198
    83
    38
    36
See reviews for
128
152
27
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This property sits right on the water, next to the ferry and within walking distance to many things to do and places to eat.

I have stayed several times and continue to be impressed.

I have only eaten breakfast, but the fruit was fresh and the service fast.

Highly recommend this hotel for business or family travelers.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
On behalf of Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel management and staff, thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay. We will continue our streak of impressing you each visit!! Thank you again for sharing your wonderful experience!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The rooms were OK however they offer you to use the safe (that's SUPPOSED to be in each room) however we did not have one in our room nor did our colleague in his. The decor is slightly outdated BUT that's not a huge deal. The biggest thing was they had a Marriott price and attitude (if you're at a 5 star Marriott) but they couldn't back it up. Many less expensive hotels have FREE INTERNET!! I can't believe they charge for theirs....at least if you want to use it in your room!! Nothings free.....OH, and their iron/ironing board ruined my dress shirt!! I would only stay here again if I had to. On a plus side....the view was wonderful!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKUSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and sharing your experience.
You indicated in your response that the iron in the room damaged your shirt. Please accept our sincere apologies. If you decide to give our hotel another chance, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nicely decorated and on the water in Portsmouth with good views from upper rooms. Staff was friendly. Only downside was bathroom plumbing (sink&tub) we're very slow to drain.
This hotel is better for business travelers rather than families as there is not much for kids to do around the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts via Tripadvisor. Regarding things for families to do nearby, we have a number of museums that mom and dad can take their little ones. The Historic Naval shipyard museum and the largest interactive children's museum are all within walking distance of the hotel. Please let me know the next time you visit Portsmouth so I may personally introduce myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I am currently attending a conference here and I can say that from the restaurant staff to the food and beverage staff to the front desk staff, each and every interaction is friendly, efficient, and professional. Kudos to you all and to your managers.

Thank you for a great stay and great service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctheworld67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I communicated with our Hotel staff about your wonderful experience. Hope you will select us on your next visit to Portsmouth. Enjoy the rest of your Holiday weekend!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The views from our room were very pretty. We were in a room ending 25 and could see all the ships!

Amenities in the room are Aveda which was really nice! We lost our room key and the agent who made the replacement didn't even ask for an ID. The furniture was rather old, worn, and out dated. It was the first time in a while for me to see a bed that you could actually loose stuff under. Typically the beds are on a solid block. I think the rooms really need a make over. As a positive, the ac was great and there was always hot water. The lobby was modern and clean. Appreciated the complimentary water and oranges.

It was a nice weekend overall.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank UHcougarBdaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel. The water and oranges are one of our welcome delighters. Regarding the worn furniture, Im pleased to inform you that we installed new upholstery. Next time you visit, please do not hestitate to let me know!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Holland, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had a very wonderful stay, all the staffs were very a tentative and amazing. I felt welcome from the time I walked into the front door, until I checked out. I will definitely be back whenever I am in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We cannot thank you enough for the wonderful words expressed in your Review. As a member of the marriott brand, we strive for flawless service execution. Please let me know when you plan to return, so i may have the pleasure of meeting you. Enjoy the upcoming Holiday weekend!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Olde Town
Comfort Inn Olde Town
#2 of 5 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel

Property: Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Address: 425 Water St, Portsmouth, VA 23704-3801
Region: United States > Virginia > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending traditional elegance and modern style, our waterside Norfolk, VA area hotel in the historic downtown district of Olde Towne Portsmouth provides calming comfort and soothing relaxation. The Renaissance Portsmouth hotel boasts a hip location overlooking the vibrant, revitalized waterfront and offers stunning views of the Elizabeth River. Set above the harbor, the Portsmouth Ballroom's unique outdoor terrace, part of the 24,000 square feet of Norfolk area hotel meeting space, provides a stunning reception area sure to draw rave reviews from your guests. This updated luxurious Norfolk, Virginia area hotel also features 23 meeting rooms including a 70-seat Amphitheater. Savor the atmosphere of this waterside hotel in Portsmouth at Foggy Point Bar & Grill, presenting a selection of fresh seafood. Visitors to the area can enjoy the unique experience of taking the nearby water taxi across to many of the Norfolk business and visitor destinations including the Norfolk Naval facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel And Waterfront Conference Center
Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel & Waterfront Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing