We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little joint. Fresh fish”
Review of Blue Water

Blue Water
Ranked #47 of 188 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Seafood, American
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good little joint. Fresh fish”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

The food is fresh and good. Friendly service. Moderate price. Very casual. You order then find a seat. Bring coins for street parking. Fish n chips is enough for two adults. They will split the order in half for you. Soft shell crab is amazing. Waffle fries so food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ninascorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Virginia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Average Food, Nothing Spectacular”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

After reading other reviews, we thought this was the place to go. We were hugely disappointed, possibly because the previous reviews were so high. The wedge salad was not cold, it was actually warm, which for you wedge salad eaters you know, that's not how it's suppose to be, so we were very disappointed with it. Seemed like they had made it & it sat under a lamp? The wings were very dry, which was another disappointment, considering we ordered 3 different flavors of them, all of them basically tasted the same.......like dried out fried chicken. The hula burger was good, along with the sweet potato fries and the Tuna Poke appetizer was really good. The steamed shrimp were big and pretty good, but they were steamed about 2 minutes too long. The other things that bothered us was it took so long to get our food, perhaps this kitchen is too small or chef is just slow. The waitress was very friendly and gave us lots of refills on our drinks, perhaps that's because we waited so long for our food. Not sure we'll return to this place, from driving around the area, there's several other options to try out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachgoer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good brunch at reasonable price”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Had brunch on Mother's Day. Very pleasant service in casual atmosphere. Omelette and Pulled Pork Eggs Benedict were excellent. Rapid service. Compared to other places with Sunday brunch, the price was very reasonable. We will definitely come again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“Good food, Fast service”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I had the Hula cheeseburger. It was very greasy but very good. Other party had seafood, very good and nice waitress.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ballplayer1799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hole in the wall with great fresh seafood”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We were looking for someplace different for a Friday night and saw the previous review. They were right! Excellent food. Hubby had the wedge salad. He said it was the best he ever had. Even better than Outback! I got fish and chips. It way exceeded my expectations. The fish portion was fresh, hot, and huge. It came with more fries than I could eat and coleslaw and hush puppies. We were there at 6 pm and it was almost empty except a few people at the bar. I understand that the live music starts at 10 pm so I'm guessing the crowd picks up later.
The only downside is parking. You'll have to find a place on the street.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeannieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Water also viewed

 

Been to Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing