We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chicken salad in town!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Deli

New York Deli
Ranked #48 of 185 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best chicken salad in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great local deli that delivers! Get the chicken salad...the best in town and delicious on toasted wheat. Everything we've ordered has been good, with very generous portions and high quality. Don't forget to top off your lunch with a homemade cookie!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariner65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love them”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

A wonderful deli located in the heart of Olde Towne.Try their chicken salad...it's the best in the area. Fast local delivery too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent place to grab a bite to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

While attending one of the events at downtown Portsmouth, we stopped in here to check out the menu. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Once we made our selection, the sandwiches were made right away and they were both very tasty and plentiful with fresh ingredients. I would highly recommend it for someone who would like to have an excellent sandwich made fresh with fresh ingredients to order.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danny679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Manager at New York Deli, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are glad you enjoyed it and your feedback is much appreciated. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good - but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The place was empty when we entered around 12:30 pm on a Saturday, but it was pretty filled by the time we left. Good sandwiches, quality corned beef and pastrami and Dr. Brown's soda. The service was a little slow and spotty but all in all, not a bad place for lunch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank meh911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Manager at New York Deli, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review of The Deli. We will work harder on our customer service so all your needs are met. We hope you will join us for lunch again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best in area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Been coming here for +40 years and always find it a treat. Superb soups, huge and exquisite sandwiches, salads and more. No place better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tatteredhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New York Deli also viewed

 

Been to New York Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing