We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SKIPJACK AS AN EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skipjack Nautical Wares & Marine Gallery

Skipjack Nautical Wares & Marine Gallery
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Portsmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Selected by customers as the world's most unique and diverse nautical store & marine art gallery! Located in the historic Olde Towne Portsmouth, Virginia, a part of the greater Hampton Roads area including Norfolk, virginia Beach, Williamsburg, Chesapeake, Suffolk, Hampton, Newport News and the Outer Banks of North Carolina are all nearby.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Tidewater, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“SKIPJACK AS AN EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Visiting Skipjack Nautical Wares and Marine Gallery in Olde Towne Portsmouth, Virginia, is as much a learning experience as a really good shopping one. For a mountain person such as myself who knows little about nautical culture, I find this shop and gallery teaches me about navigation maps, antique boating accessories and necessaries, concerns of contemporary boaters, and the beauty of marine paintings, carvings, and other art work. Their website offers you a chance to shop with them from a distance, but the ambiance of the shop, its congenial owners and Jack, the dog, should not be missed in person. I hope you'll leave Skipjack with several beautiful items, but I know you'll leave with a richer knowledge of life on the water.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Editor47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Best Bet For Nautical / Coastal Items”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

One of the best and most eclectic selections of nautical and costal items that I've seen on the East Coast.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheOldGrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“REPEAT VISIT TO SKIPJACK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

SKIPJACK NAUTICAL WARES is true to its title: there is everything a boater might want..........or need. The showroom is a most attractive place displaying the marvelous variety available to all of a nautical bent. Happily, the website also also makes available much of what is in the showroom. Check it out at SKIPJACKNAUTICALWARES.COM

We never fail to visit when we are lucky enough to get to Portsmouth!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TowneCryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something for anyone who loves boating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

There are lots of places to buy "stuff" for your boat, not so many for the boating lifestyle. Skipjack is the shop where you can find that special and unique addition to your boating lifestyle, be it a custom scrimshaw knife, a nautical painting, or a one-of-a-kind ship in a bottle. You can let your imagination go wild, imagining what you can do with a brass portal or ship's wheel. Much of what is offered is from salvaged ships so it's the real deal, not a fru-fru copy. Not looking for a huge addition to your home decor? Then take a look at some of the smaller gifts available, such as the hand made bracelets, nautical chart lamp shades, or nautical chart coasters. Oh, and make sure you say "hi" to Jack, the official greeter (and dog).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
“Love this store!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Each time I'm in the Hampton Roads area, I try to make a special trip just to visit this store. There's something for everyone here: apparel, antiques, jewelry, home decor, even stuff for pets! The owners are friendly and helpful and there's so much to look at around the store. I love that it's on the riverfront because it makes for a beautiful view.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kait B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skipjack Nautical Wares & Marine Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Skipjack Nautical Wares & Marine Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing