We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem near old town”
Review of cafe europa

cafe europa
Ranked #5 of 189 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
mjm752
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem near old town”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very comfortable, attractive, combination of old world decor in restored new world building. Small but varied wine list with good choice of wine by the glass. Classic seafood dishes with lovely sauces and, odd for the south, not based on frying everything. Nice paintings.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjm752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    19
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoy - Make an evening of it!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Full disclosure - over the past two months, I've eaten at Cafe Europa four times (3 dinners; 1 lunch). As a result, I've had the opportunity to try a good part of the menu (either from what I ordered, or doing a "tasty taste" with my wife and table-mates). I have yet to find something that I wouldn't order (although the pork scallopini dishes are my favorite)! Additionally, the specials which are offered are truly special - from Norwegian salmon to osso buco to Brazilian shrimp soup - you can't go wrong.
Now, the service tends to be European in timing - the staff does not rush you, and gives you time to make well-thought out decisions about your meal. That said, they are very helpful in describing the various choices available, and in making recommendations -- and courses arrive as they should (that is, you will not be faced with your entree before finishing your appetizer) and always impeccably presented. Additionally, all of the wait staff - not just your waiter - will check your table over as they go back and forth, and will take care of any service requirements that you might have without waiting to be asked (for example - wine and water glasses are regularly refilled as needed).
Now, do not go to Cafe Europa if you have a limited amount of time, or if you are inclined to be...er...obnoxious with the demands you make on the management and staff (my wife suggested using another word - a noun - which I'm sure wouldn't survive TripAdvisor edits)! Do go, however, if you want to have a special evening and be taken care of in such a way as to make you feel "appreciated and pampered" (good words from another reviewer which I wholeheartedly endorse)!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cjackson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Rude service.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We walked in to this restaurant and were greeted with "Do you need something?" Not from you we don't. There are too many restaurants in this area to put up with bad service and unprofessional attitudes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChefJohnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A five star gem of a restaurant with a truly intimate feel.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

From the warm greeting by the staff, to the beautiful description of the food selections, specials and desserts, you immediately feel appreciated and pampered. The presentation of the drinks and utterly exquisite aroma and portions of the entrees are to die for. The atmosphere inside and on the outside patio cafe is so relaxing and warm that if you're having an intimate dinner for two or a family dinner for many you're made to feel as if you are the only people in the restaurant. This gem of Portsmouth is worth every penny and so much more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“fabulous food and atmostphere”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

nothing to dislike, really great place. not cheap. worth it !! mike the owner is the chef. a long standing reputation. i had a group of 40 for a dinner in here and everyone (a picky group) was crazy about the food and service !!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FROOOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed cafe europa also viewed

 

Been to cafe europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing