We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay close to Lebanon, VA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pounding Mill
Collinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay close to Lebanon, VA”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were in the area to visit family and rooms were booked in Abingdon and Bristol due to events in the area. This hotel was actually in a great location close to Lebanon. We called ahead of arrival and the desk clerk had our paperwork and key ready, when we checked in. We could hear people walking in the room above ours, we were on the first floor. Otherwise, it was quiet. Our parents stayed on the 2nd floor and said that it was real quiet there. The breakfast was excellent and the staff did a great job replenishing. The rooms were clean with excellent bedding.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldiva24078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for giving your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. I am glad to hear your overall stay with us met all your needs and you were close to your destination in Lebanon.

I understand your comment regarding hearing footsteps above your room. At times it is very hard to control this. Some guest walk soft accross floor and some just stump across the floor. They may not realize they are walking hard but it just happens.

Overall I am glad that your stay with us was relaxing and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    21
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
12
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This Hotel is one of those that you can hear people walking down the hall. The people in the room above us were not load but you could hear them walking . We had the room above the front doors and every time they opened our bed would vibrate. The breakfast was very good and the staff did a great job with it. Our overall experience would have been better without the added noise. This is a three star Hotel that gets 4 stars.

Room Tip: Be carefull requesting one of the double queen suites. Ours was right over the front doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getbit_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
I would like to thank you for you comments regarding your most recent trip staying at our hotel in Claypool Hill, Viriginia.

I understand your comment regarding other guests walking above your room. I also understand that at times you can hear people talking in the hallways, some guests voices just carry.

You are correct that the room that you stayed in is above the lobby and our main entrance door. I fully understand that the door does open and shut a lot throughout the day and night. However since we have opened 6 years ago we have never received any major complaints about the bed vibrating when the door opens and shuts. We will look further into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed there twice, both times were great. The staff is friendly, the decor is nice and inviting, the rooms were clean. It is the nicest cleanest place in there area, there isnt an abundance in hotels in the area, my advice would be to book early, rooms fill up fast due to out of town workers

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsmeFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tellico Plains, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. It has been really nice and quite both times. The places is exceptionally clean and the staff are very friendly. The free breakfast is also nice. I recomment staying in a room that has a king bed. The little extras in those rooms make the stay great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilson_ah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I was here for business and was looking for a hotel. This really was the only one that looked clean and something that I was familiar with. It's easy enough to find, however all the restaurants nearby were either fast food or closed. Thank goodness there was a Walmart nearby and I could at least buy some fruits/vegetables to eat. There are no places to run that are nearby unless you want to run around in a parking lot - and I don't always want to run on a treadmill! The rooms were clean and the service was good, but you if you are looking for anything more, the area doesn't really support it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
241 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This hotel was a total surprise. I traveled to the area to visit my brother, who was attending a race at Bristol Motor Speedway. He had reservations here. I was totally surprised at the hotel. He was in a two queen suite for $150 per night. Given that this area fills up for the race, I thought that rate was reasonable. The room was really clean. The bed was comfortable. The hotel was very quiet. Overall, this is a gem. The hotel is surrounded by mountains and the area is lovely. If you find your way in southwest Virginia, northeastern Tennessee, southeastern West Virginia or southeastern Kentucky, do consider this hotel. You will have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacklbarnhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Nothing fancy, but the clean rooms and the excellent customer service makes your stay great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schmackdaddy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pounding Mill
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area
20.1 mi away
General Francis Marion Hotel
20.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Grundy
Comfort Inn Grundy
#1 of 1 in Grundy
57 reviews
21.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Atkins
51 reviews
20.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill

Property: Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
Address: 180 Clay Dr, Pounding Mill, VA 24637-4318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Pounding Mill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pounding Mill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the beautiful new Claypool Hill Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located on US 460 & US 19. We are close to Fort Witten/Crab Orchard Museum, Southwest VA Community College, Richlands, and Grundy. Enjoy one of our mountain view rooms. We offer spacious King and queen double bedding along with 17 suites. Our feature king suite offers fireplace & hot tub. All suites have wet bar w/microwave, Refrigerator & sofa sleeper. All rooms have hairdryer, iron/board, coffee makers, speakerphones w/voice mail and high speed Internet access. Relax and unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool. (Pool and whirlpool closed due to renovations) or exercise room featuring Nautilus equipment. We take pride in our guest service and quality. When staying in Claypool Hill, stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill Hotel Pounding Mill
Holiday Inn Pounding Mill
Pounding Mill Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing