We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing”
Review of Above Ground Winery - CLOSED

Above Ground Winery
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We go to wineries all of the time and were excited to hear about one in the town of Purcellville. When we arrived the atmosphere was great but the individual doing the tasting was a little too comfortable with talking and came across very negative on a personal level. As we were doing the tasting we find out that the grapes (juice) come from other wineries, which is understandable since they are new but I would rather taste 2 wines from a winery rather than 5 from 4 wineries. When leaving, I asked to purchase a bottle of wine and was told they were out and I would have to call later in the week to see if more had been picked up.... The whole experience was not horrible but I will not go there again when there are so many other very nice wineries in the area.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank foobear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
29Vines, Owner at Above Ground Winery, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for writing your opinion here on TripAdvisor. It is important to us to get feedback, especially in the early stages of our new winery business. We are excited to be a part of Virginia's wine industry and I am sure our excitement came across in being too talkative. To clarify a point, we do not get juice from our grape growers. Our leases with our partners provide harvested grapes, which we process in our winery on our property. This is a common process that many of the wineries use. I am guessing by the date of your comment, that you visited in December, which we had 4 of our own wines, Sweet Rebecca Lynn, White Chambourcin, Chambourcin, and Vintners Reserve and at least 2 of our partners. We try to bring variety to our tasting offering something new about every two weeks to compliment our own wines. Sometimes we sell out of a wine faster than we expect, it is something we can not predict, but never plan to disappoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
1 review
“Terrific wine, and experience.”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This new wine bar in Purcellville is a welcome main street business. Not only is their wine terrific, but the proprietors, and staff, are wonderful. During a tasting you can expect several types of local Virginia wines that are quite delicious. All the while, you will be treated to a piece of town history, lighthearted humor and topical talk of the day. The setting is a former movie theater reborn as a cool downtown wine bar. I recommend visiting 29 Vines.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank LoudounLandscapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Above Ground Winery also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing